Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

AssertionException in Post Process Stack 2.2.2

Discussion in 'Image Effects' started by SpookyCat, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. SpookyCat

    SpookyCat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Posts:
    3,391
    Just updated to 2.2.2 for Post Processing and it works but I keep getting this error in the console:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. AssertionException: Assertion failure. Value was Null
    2. Expected: Value was not Null
    3. UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.Fail (System.String message, System.String userMessage) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Assertions/Assert/AssertBase.cs:29)
    4. UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsNotNull (UnityEngine.Object value, System.String message) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Assertions/Assert/AssertNull.cs:58)
    5. UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsNotNull[T] (T value, System.String message) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Assertions/Assert/AssertNull.cs:46)
    6. UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsNotNull[T] (T value) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/Assertions/Assert/AssertNull.cs:38)
    7. UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.RuntimeUtilities.get_copyStdMaterial () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.2.2/PostProcessing/Runtime/Utils/RuntimeUtilities.cs:268)
    8. UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.BuildCommandBuffers () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.2.2/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:605)
    9. UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.OnPreCull () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.2.2/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:440
    Is this known, and is there a fix?
     
    Henry_Sun likes this.
  2. SpookyCat

    SpookyCat

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Posts:
    3,391
    If you have Shaded Wireframe turned on in the scene view then the console is spammed with this message constantly.
     
  3. tnyLe

    tnyLe

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    I've got very similar messages too. Just upgraded to PostProcessing Stack v2.22 from v2.17 or so. Unity version 2018.3.8f1.
    If I do modifications to my code and come back to the editor, I'll get these errors again and the Post Processing is disabled on the Game tab. Either clicking play or scene tab and back kinda resolves it. Hopefully it doesn't cause any problems further down the ine.
     
  4. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,662
    This is a bug introduced in v2.1.8 (already reported on GitHub). Downgrading to 2.1.7 will "fix" this.
     
    Whatever560 and Propagant like this.
  5. paternostrox

    paternostrox

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Also having this issue using Post Processing v2.2.2. Unity version 2019.3.0f1.

    For me the message will get spammed in any shading mode.
     
    jeffdyerSRTMarine likes this.
  6. calc1fer

    calc1fer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2019
    Posts:
    61
    아니 시발 하루 이틀도 아니고 버그 덕지덕지 붙은걸 2019.3 verified 라고 내놓네
     
  7. andreasdkt

    andreasdkt

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    11
    Having the same issue: Cinemachine 2.2.9 + Unity 2018.4.5f1
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.RuntimeUtilities.get_copyStdMaterial () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.2.1/PostProcessing/Runtime/Utils/RuntimeUtilities.cs:269)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.BuildCommandBuffers () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.2.1/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:605)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.PostProcessing.PostProcessLayer.OnPreCull () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.postprocessing@2.2.1/PostProcessing/Runtime/PostProcessLayer.cs:440)
     
  8. StaggartCreations

    StaggartCreations

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    1,662
    Its apparently been fixed in v2.2.3, but it has yet to appear in the package manager.
     
    Henry_Sun, GenOli and Ruufer like this.
  9. Whatever560

    Whatever560

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    Having the same issue it's quite troublesome, I'm looking forward the 2.2.3 update
     
  10. projectorgames_unity

    projectorgames_unity

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    49
    That's quite a spectacular fail. Don't they do proper QA before stuff goes live? So much for LTS being the stable one...
     
    Ferdowsur likes this.
  11. Silly_Rollo

    Silly_Rollo

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Posts:
    499
    This bug is really annoying. It is causing my editor to crash frequently. Any idea when the fix is going up?
     
  12. Whatever560

    Whatever560

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    Don't know why previous versions are no more available through the package manager. Manually changed to 2.1.7 in PackageManager/Manifest.json and downgraded properly. No more annoying error stack.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2019
  13. Lesha-VH

    Lesha-VH

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    90
    same, lots of errors in console - waiting 2.2.3)
     
  14. CyanSlinky

    CyanSlinky

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    Any estimate on when 2.2.3 is out? and why cant we revert to older versions through the package manager?
     
    Silly_Rollo likes this.
  15. sdowd897

    sdowd897

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    you can - go to package manager -> select the package -> select remove -> re-add the version you want to use
     
  16. CyanSlinky

    CyanSlinky

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    No, you can only install version 2.2.2 at least on my version 2019.3.0f3. But it's maybe possible to bypass by changing the version in the package manifest, which feels like an unnecessary hacky workaround to me. I'm just going to wait for 2.2.3
     
  17. DefineDoddy

    DefineDoddy

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same issue with 2019.0f3, when I double click on the error it brings me to my camera game object which has a post-processing stack layer on it. Hope it's fixed in version 2.2.3, otherwise, I'll have to test my game by exporting it each time. When I press the play button, the editor completely freezes and I have to end the process in the task manager.
     
  18. RegahProd23

    RegahProd23

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I've been having the same issue, everytime i press play i get a bunch of errors that when i click them they highlight my camera, and the only fix is removing the post processing layer, but i need it for the post processing volume to work. I've updated the post processing stack v2 in the package manager from 2.2.2 to 2.3.0, by clicking the dropdown arrow to the left of the package, and still i get the same errors. What should i do? I don't have any extra windows, and i've previously utilized HDRP, LWRP and URP, but ultimately went back to the builtin pipeline, and i've already unistalled those packages from my project but now i'm getting these errors i didn't get before so maybe there's some residue left or something.
     
  19. bdoom

    bdoom

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    same
     
  20. Gillissie

    Gillissie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Posts:
    200
    It's June 9, 2020. Still having this issue.
     
  21. Mayhem-McAwesome

    Mayhem-McAwesome

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Same here - Is there nothing that can be done?
     
  22. Mloren

    Mloren

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Posts:
    82
    This is fixed in 2.3.0
    Go to Package Manager and click the little arrow next to Post Processing to see all versions.
    You may need to turn on "Show Preview Packages" under Advanced.
    2.3.0 should show in the list and you can upgrade to that version. This fixed it for me.
     
    KristianDoyle likes this.
  23. AnalogKestrel

    AnalogKestrel

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    I started getting this error (although I found I could just clear the console and ignore it):
    upload_2020-7-12_23-55-43.png
    The update to 2.3.0 seems to have fixed it
     
unityunity