Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Thursday, June 8, for a Q&A with Unity's Content Pipeline group here on the forum, and on the Unity Discord, and discuss topics around Content Build, Import Workflows, Asset Database, and Addressables!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Assertion failed on expression: std::abs > FLT_MIN

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by TabuuForteAkugun, May 5, 2020.

  1. TabuuForteAkugun

    TabuuForteAkugun

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Posts:
    56
    These errors keep popping up every frame, as does a MouseEvent error. But I'm not even using mouse events... "Screen position out of view of frustum" each time I hover over the Game View on Play Mode.

    It just started doing this this afternoon.

    In a Development Build, this also happens: Both errors flood the console thingy. It's a tad irritating searching through that for actual errors in MY scripting.

    Any idea what could cause this? And can I send anything over to help?
     
  2. liebltabeling

    liebltabeling

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Hi,

    did you get any solution?
    I have the same problem.

    Thanks,
    Greetings Matthias
     
  3. TabuuForteAkugun

    TabuuForteAkugun

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Posts:
    56
    Sadly I didn't. This has been going on for a few different Unity builds now.
     
  4. multimediamarkers

    multimediamarkers

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Posts:
    49
    Any news on this issue?
     
  5. quintonblackwood

    quintonblackwood

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having this issue as well and cannot find a solution for it
     
  6. NMotome

    NMotome

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Struggling with it, too

    "
    Assertion failed on expression:'std::abs(det) >FLT_MIN'
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(int, intptr, bool&)
    "

    Even don't know what happened...
     
  7. Fenikkel

    Fenikkel

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Posts:
    19
    In my case, appeared when I put a canvas just in front of the near clipping plane (but inside the fustrum)
     
  8. LunaticAsylum

    LunaticAsylum

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    In my case:

    I had my pause script set timeScale to 0
    And when I reload the scene it didn't automatically reset to default, so that it confused trails, lerp, smoothdamp, etc. functions
    So I had to manually set it to default in Start() or right before reloading
     
  9. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    7,398
    Thats strange. The only place I can see an assert like that is in the shadow culling code.
    If you have a project producing this error please file a bug report so we can look into it. Asserts are things that should never happen.
     
  10. V4nKw15h

    V4nKw15h

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Posts:
    47
    I ran into this bug today too. Thanks to the above replies I was able to track it down. I had a SmoothDamp controlling my cameras orthographic size every frame. If I changed the orthographic size value while Time.timeScale was zero the error messages appeared. (21 errors in my case). The solution was to simply put a check to ensure the smoothdamp code didn't run unless timeScale was non-zero.
     
  11. deekpyro

    deekpyro

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Posts:
    71
    For future reference I was seeing this assertion when setting a camera's aspect to zero and calling Render() on it. Fixing the aspect value made it go away.
     
  12. Kalsbold

    Kalsbold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Disappeared when I turned off the Render Shadow option in the VR camera.
     
  13. Kalsbold

    Kalsbold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I am using Now Unity 2021.2.19f1, OpenXR plugin 1.3.1, OpenVR XR plugin 1.1.4
     
  14. Innovine

    Innovine

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Posts:
    519
    Same issue in 2022.2.14. No shadow from my directional light, ever, but other lights work ok. The only shadow i get is a thin strip in the global Y plane. The assert is intermittent.