Search Unity

Bug Assertion failed on expression: 'exception == SCRIPTING_NULL'

Discussion in 'Animation Rigging' started by hunabku94, Feb 6, 2023.

  1. hunabku94

    hunabku94

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    50
    Hello,
    i have this error with version 1.2.1, in 2021 and 2022 editors, in multiples fresh projects.

    Package causing error when installed :
    Animation Rigging 1.2.1

    Installed dependencies :
    Burst 1.8.2
    Custom NUnit 1.0.6
    Mathematics 1.2.6
    Test Framework 1.1.33

    Other packages installed :
    TextMeshPro 3.0.6
    Unity UI 1.0.0

    1rst error (full error in log) :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
    2.   at System.Number.ThrowOverflowOrFormatException (System.Boolean overflow, System.String overflowResourceKey) [0x0001a] in <678b7420e6544bdf855a59dce148e44b>:0
    3.   at System.Number.ParseInt32 (System.ReadOnlySpan`1[T] value, System.Globalization.NumberStyles styles, System.Globalization.NumberFormatInfo info) [0x00016] in <678b7420e6544bdf855a59dce148e44b>:0
    4.   at System.Int32.Parse (System.String s) [0x00016] in <678b7420e6544bdf855a59dce148e44b>:0
    5.   at Unity.Burst.BurstCompilerOptionsInternal.DeserialiseStringArraySafe (System.String input) [0x00025] in <a2dd15248a25411e914af2a2c82fb63f>:0
    6.   at Burst.Compiler.IL.Jit.JitCompilerService.GetAssemblyPaths (System.String folders) [0x0001c] in <a2dd15248a25411e914af2a2c82fb63f>:0
    7.   at Burst.Compiler.IL.Jit.JitCompilerService.EnsureLibraryCacheLoaded (System.String assemblyPaths) [0x0001f] in <a2dd15248a25411e914af2a2c82fb63f>:0
    8.   at Burst.Compiler.IL.Jit.JitCompilerService.CompileInternal (System.String fullMethodName, System.String assemblyPaths, System.IntPtr userdata, Unity.Burst.NativeDumpFlags dumpFlags, System.IntPtr compilerCallbackPointer, System.IntPtr logCallBack, System.String compilerFlags) [0x000c1] in <a2dd15248a25411e914af2a2c82fb63f>:0
    9. Unity.Burst.LowLevel.BurstCompilerService:GetDisassembly(MethodInfo, String)
    10. Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler:SendRawCommandToCompiler(String)
    11. Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler:SendCommandToCompiler(String, String)
    12. Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler:InitialiseDebuggerHooks()
    13. Unity.Burst.Editor.BurstLoader:.cctor()
    14. System.Runtime.CompilerServices.RuntimeHelpers:RunClassConstructor(IntPtr)
    15. System.Runtime.CompilerServices.RuntimeHelpers:RunClassConstructor(RuntimeTypeHandle)
    16. UnityEditor.EditorAssemblies:ProcessInitializeOnLoadAttributes(Type[])
    2nd error (full error in log):
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Assertion failed on expression: 'exception == SCRIPTING_NULL'
    2. UnityEngine.StackTraceUtility:ExtractStackTrace () (at /home/bokken/build/output/unity/unity/Runtime/Export/Scripting/StackTrace.cs:37)
    3. Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler:SendRawCommandToCompiler (string) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.burst@1.8.2/Runtime/BurstCompiler.cs:770)
    4. Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler:SendCommandToCompiler (string,string) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.burst@1.8.2/Runtime/BurstCompiler.cs:784)
    5. Unity.Burst.BurstCompiler:InitialiseDebuggerHooks () (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.burst@1.8.2/Runtime/BurstCompiler.cs:637)
    6. Unity.Burst.Editor.BurstLoader:.cctor () (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.burst@1.8.2/Runtime/Editor/BurstLoader.cs:213)
    7. System.Runtime.CompilerServices.RuntimeHelpers:RunClassConstructor (System.RuntimeTypeHandle)
    8. UnityEditor.EditorAssemblies:ProcessInitializeOnLoadAttributes (System.Type[]) (at /home/bokken/build/output/unity/unity/Editor/Mono/EditorAssemblies.cs:153)
    Fatal Error (x2 in two separate windows) when i close editor :
    Code (CSharp):
    1. GetManagerFromContext: pointer to object of manager 'MonoManager' is NULL (table index 5)
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2023
  2. NG-MarkHyv

    NG-MarkHyv

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I had a similar error and the culprit was that my project's path container a letter "ä" and for some reason this version of burst compiler didn't like it in the file path. Probably a bug with a newer version since this started happening to me after upgrading URP.

    The project started working flawlessly when I moved it to a path that didn't have that letter (In my case C:/Repositories/).
    Perhaps you have a similar case where some character in your project's file path that may not be compatible with this compiler version?
     
  3. hunabku94

    hunabku94

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2017
    Posts:
    50
    Hi and thx for sharing your experience.
    Sadly, i've not any accent or special character, so no chance will fix for me.
     
  4. LeonardoMello

    LeonardoMello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here, and the @NG-MarkHyv solution worked for me. My directory was installed in the Desktop directory, and in my system (Windows 11) was using the OneDrive for default. Cause I'm in Brazil, the Desktop directory was renamed to "Área de Trabalho". I changed the directory to C:/Users/<myUser>/<projectDirectory>, and solved the Issue.

    Thanks for the help @NG-MarkHyv!
     
    taelgalli likes this.
  5. Caesir_

    Caesir_

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I had the same error.
    I had Burst (1.8.2) and Animation Rigging (1.1.1) installed as well.
    Besides that I installed Alembic (2.2.2), Recorder (3.0.3) which are the assets I believe that wouldn't cause the error.

    The error log appeared only after I installed Burst. My shaders' render queue also messed up:

    Entered debug mode, changed render queue to 0 or else, but when I recheck the tab they were all forced changed to -1. Had no clue on that since I had no scripts forcing to change render order. :/
     
  6. vokh_demetro

    vokh_demetro

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    I change ' ' to '_' on my project folder and project work correct.
     
  7. LeTrungNghia

    LeTrungNghia

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Thatt's right!, I change my project folder from document to destop, and it worked correct.
     
  8. onurucar123

    onurucar123

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Same for me too, I moved the project folder from another folder that was in desktop to the desktop itself. Although I also removed the 'ğ' character in my project's name at the same time.
     
  9. S1CKAGE

    S1CKAGE

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I fixed it by upgrading the version of editor. It worked perfectly. I was using 2021, upgradet it to 2022...