Search Unity

Asking for help with movement code

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by brandonschlosser101, Oct 28, 2019.

1. brandonschlosser101

brandonschlosser101

Hi there!

I'm still learning C# and was hoping someone could help me figure out a way to write this code I've been stuck on for a few weeks.

I tried something a bit more complicated but eventually gave up and resorted to a simpler version. Ill include both ideas so any help is greatly appreciated!

My original idea is for a 3d side-scrolling platformer. It takes place in a 3d space and the player only moves left and right, but "left and right" is relative to the path they are on. If the path curves around a building, "right" means forward on the path and "left" means back etc. It kind of looks like the level itself is rotating from the player perspective. I have the side scrolling movement down with jumping and double jumping, but how can I make the player move along a spline? The code seems very complicated so any help making this simpler is greatly appreciated.

The thing I resorted to is to just have 90 degree turns where when the player gets to a corner the camera rotates around and lets the player continue on. (Imagine a square) However when the player goes backward, I want them to go back on the original side (not off into space) so basically just do the inverse of the angle. Ill include the code I have for this below. I don't think my "else if" statement is working correctly. the "If" makes the "else if" true so both execute. Is that supposed to happen?

If anyone can help explain how to do the first thing, that would be amazing but if not, even the simpler workaround is great!
    Thank you again!

using UnityEngine;
    public class Turning : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public int turningAngle;
    public bool hasGoneThrough;

// This script is on an empty trigger placed on the corners

void OnTriggerEnter(Collider other)
    {