Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

As an artist, why should I use Timeline instead of normal animations?

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by ShaunUnity, Feb 8, 2019.

1. ShaunUnity

ShaunUnity

So I've had my eye on Timeline since it came out. I've watched several videos about it where people make simple animations, activate objects and blend cinemachine cameras.

Am I missing something? Can't I already do all those things with the normal animation system? In an animation you can move stuff and activate stuff. Cinemachine cameras blend themselves, so that's already covered.

There seems to be special things you can do with code... but I'm an artist so that doesn't really help me. So what am I missing? Everyone is touting Timeline as this great boon to artists. But it just seems like a different way do doing things. Why is it better? Right now I feel like Unity should have just made the animation window a little more organized instead of building something completely new.

Thank you

Shaun

2. gekidoslayer

gekidoslayer

Unity Technologies

depends what you are looking to do.

One way to look at is that an animation is applied to a specific object - a character or prop.

However a Timeline sequence is not just for animation sequencing, it allows you to sequence anything that happens in Unity - so if you want a light to animate, an effect to play, and audio clip to happen at a particular frame or moment in time, then you can either write a ton of code to activate this stuff, OR you can use Timeline to sequence everything.

Being able to setup interactions in a game, or a cutscene or whatever else you might imagine - and be able to preview them via Timeline in the editor - make it 1000% worth looking into.