Search Unity

Artist looking for feedback: What 2D assets do you need?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Futurespaceghost, May 9, 2017.

1. Futurespaceghost

Futurespaceghost

Hey guys I'm an artist currently working on some free assets for the community. I have some ideas in mind but instead of wasting time taking a shot in the dark I thought it would be better to get a general idea of what the community needs the most.
    Is it a particular art style, game genre, etc?

Let me know below!

2. Raven000

Raven000

Well, I'm currently drafting a GDD on a 2D space simulator game. If you had something that fit that genre I might take a look.

3. Ed_Muel

Ed_Muel

If you're doing 2d then i could do with some decent completely top down modern shooter animations, most I see are isometric. Just walk shoot and die (sounds morbidly poetic) that's all I need. Although I'm probably a minority...

4. Not_Sure

Not_Sure

If you go to my site bravelybear.com you can see what I'm currently trying to do (trying being the operative word lately given my work schedule).

But speaking for me personally, I would love to see more painted 2d objects.

Also, some high def painted versions of 16 bit era tiled graphics would be nice.

Like question mark blocks done up in sketchbook or kirta.

5. yoonitee

yoonitee

What about if you made some parts like eyes noses and mouths so people could build their own characters?

6. GarBenjamin

GarBenjamin

I mention this every time an artist posts a thread like this asking what to make. Don't think anyone has yet and also no idea what happens to all of the artists. Seem to just disappear.

Anyway... I suggest you take a look at the 2D art on the Asset store. Identify styles that you can work with. By that I mean styles that you can approximate very well.