Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Artefact when blending more than 4 terrain textures

Discussion in 'World Building' started by RunSwimFly, Dec 26, 2018.

  1. RunSwimFly

    RunSwimFly

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Painting a fifth texture (the brown soil texture below) causes no problems. However attempting to paint over it using any of the first four textures (the green grass texture below) results in a flat whiteish colour (not represented in any of the terrain textures) appearing anywhere where there is a blend between the two. The only way to eliminate this in this case would be to completely cover the area with grass and then selectively add the soil back in. Not particularly workable.

    I believe there's 4 textures per splat map. So it appears that blending splat 1 over splat 2 causes an issue.

    I'm using Unity 2018.3.

    TextureArtifact.png
     
    umcherrel likes this.
  2. Icyteck01

    Icyteck01

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    I have the same problem
     
    RunSwimFly likes this.
  3. Flavelius

    Flavelius

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    splat 1 is not exactly blended *over* splat 2, the splat-weights ar normalized and the additional splatmaps are rendered as an additive pass on top. Wrong normalization could cause this overbrightness, but i haven't experienced this for my terrains.
    Also, the first texture on the terrain is actually created using 100% blend, so you'd have the grass covering the whole area before blending in other textures, if it is the first. Check if you're missing a texture somewhere or if some intended normalmap is not imported as NormalMap.
     
    RunSwimFly likes this.
  4. RunSwimFly

    RunSwimFly

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Thanks for the answer. I'm only using 5 textures and deleting any one of those removes the problem so I'm pretty sure it isn't my content. That said apart from LegalSin I haven't seen anyone else reporting a problem.

    In any case I won't have an issue soon, I'm replacing my road texture with a seperate mesh. 2 splat maps is too expensive on older mobile hardware.
     
  5. umcherrel

    umcherrel

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem (Unity 2018.3). I can reproduce it with more than 4 terrain layers, and this glitch appears only when I draw over the first 4 layers (for example 5 over 1).
     
  6. Claytonious

    Claytonious

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    907
    Please file a bug report with a small repro project and then it will probably get fixed.
     
  7. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    424
    Thanks for posting! This is a known issue
     
  8. SF_futurlab

    SF_futurlab

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    I've just sent a bug report about this before I found this thread (joining the club here).
     
  9. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    424
    Welcome!

    Fix is still waiting to be merged
     
  10. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    354
    Is there an update to when the fix will be available?
     
  11. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    424
    Should be in public editor versions for 2019.1 and 2019.2 soon. Still needs a backport to 2018.3
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  12. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    354
    Alright, although we can't port our project to 2019.x (waiting for 2018.4 LTS), any chance it will come with 2018.3.7?
     
  13. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    424
    I opened a backport case for it targeting 2018.3
     
    Rowlan and DMorock like this.
  14. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    354
    For those interested, this issue appears to be fixed in 2018.3.9f1!
     
  15. MichaelEGA

    MichaelEGA

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Posts:
    43
    Hmm, I'm encountering this issue in the latest release. Any thoughts?



    The white line running through the middle is the fifth layer.