Search Unity

Resolved ARKit support for iOS via Unity-ARKit-Plugin

Discussion in 'AR' started by jimmya, Jun 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmitriy4leex

    dmitriy4leex

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Posts:
    11
    Crash at start

    Hello everyone! May be someone got same problem like me.

    I created my game with ARKit plugin and started this game successful.
    But after some time my game has can't start. Usually after 1 day or after 2 days.
    I created another projects but behavior as in above example

    And i see in setting of device that the camera permission was removed

    iPhone 6s, iOs 11.2.5, Unity 2017.2.0.p2, xCode 9.2

    Please help!
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2018
    HatXR likes this.
  2. sdprasad

    sdprasad

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Have you integrated any unity project having ARKitPlugin into native ios?
     
  3. MrMatthias

    MrMatthias

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts:
    191
    I'm trying to get the image detection to work, but when i try to add the AR Resource Group to unity's create Image.xcassets, the group can't be found:
    [General] No resource group with name "AR Resources" found

    why is that? Does the xcassets have to be in a specific folder? It's included in the Copy Bundle Resources Build Phase.

    Code (CSharp):
    1.     NSSet<ARReferenceImage*>* refImages = [ARReferenceImage referenceImagesInGroupNamed:@"AR Resources" bundle:nil];
    2.     appleConfig.detectionImages = refImages;
    3.     for (ARReferenceImage* img in refImages) {
    4.         NSLog(@"Reference Image: %@", img);
    5.     }
    Edit: Deployment Target was not set to 11.3, so the asset bundle compiler didn't include the AR Resource Group -__-
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
  4. terop

    terop

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    iPhone X face-tracking apps built with Unity freezes randomly maybe every 3-4 minutes. Any way to solve this? Someone else had reported the same problem in Bitbucket.

    After that we get this kind of Xcode logs:

    Execution of the command buffer was aborted due to an error during execution. Discarded (victim of GPU error/recovery) (IOAF code 5)
     
  5. wpeay

    wpeay

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Posts:
    8
    I bought the suburban house asset off the store. The house will scoot away from me. How can I make the object settle?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2018
  6. shaundavies

    shaundavies

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    How are you handling the field of view? The film gate i am seeing is custom and I dont know how to replicate the ratio. I am trying to have stereoscopic view and this is throwing it off. I dont want to use render textures.
     
  7. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
  8. MrMatthias

    MrMatthias

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts:
    191
    I created a sample scene for image detection, if you want to test that:
    https://bitbucket.org/mrmatthias/unity-arkit-plugin-image-recognition

    Drag the ARResources.xcassets folder from the ImageRecognition example folder to Xcode after building.
    I disabled the updating of the ARImageAnchors because the positions/rotations didn't make sense.
     
  9. erikwp

    erikwp

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Posts:
    25
    Thank you for this! The demo is working for me and its super useful.
     
  10. shaundavies

    shaundavies

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Oh that was super easy. Thanks for the info jimmya, I appreciate your work on this.
     
  11. sam598

    sam598

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Posts:
    60
  12. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    The method that we implemented uses a more flexible way of adding images and image sets to the level rather than messing with the XCode project: https://blogs.unity3d.com/2018/02/16/developing-for-arkit-1-5-update-using-unity-arkit-plugin/
     
  13. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    The problem is that the AR camera is driven through the scene based on the real world position and rotation of the device you hold. So you may be able to push the other virtual objects around, but the position of the camera in the scene will still be relative to the device.
     
  14. sam598

    sam598

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    Just an FYI and a tip for everyone trying out image detection.

    As of right now ARKit only tracks the position and orientation of an image anchor for the first frame it's detected.

    It appears that Apple's intended use case is a statically placed image that spawns the AR scene relative to the detected image, as opposed to continuously tracking a la Vuforia.

    Fortunately you can reset the tracking for an image anchor by removing it from the native ARKit interface. The Unity ARKit plugin has a built in function for removing user anchors, and it also works for image anchors.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. UnityARSessionNativeInterface.GetARSessionNativeInterface().RemoveUserAnchor(arImageAnchor.identifier);
    This is probably a bad idea, but I decided to try it out and see how much of a bad idea it is. If you remove the anchor the frame after it's detected, this is about how fast ARKit can "continuously" track an image.

     
  15. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    This is something that Apple specifically talk about: see the last section of this page: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/arkit/recognizing_images_in_an_ar_experience

    Anyways, nice to see you got it up and running :)
     
  16. alex-hume

    alex-hume

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    new plugin works great:) wondering if you see any capability to load new images for recognition after a publish to device, say as an asset bundle?
     
  17. sam598

    sam598

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Posts:
    60
    On this page it says the ARKit API allows target images to be created programmatically using a CVPixelBuffer:
    https://developer.apple.com/documentation/arkit/arworldtrackingconfiguration/2941063-detectionimages

    But elsewhere in the documentation it says images have to be preprocessed. I don't think it's clear if it's XCode that is doing the preprocessing, or if it can be as easy as just passing a native texture pointer and image size during runtime.
     
  18. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
  19. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    Check with ios 11.3 beta - if it's still happening, submit a bug report to http://bugreport.apple.com/ and post the report link here.
     
  20. John1515

    John1515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    249
    I'm using ARInterface on an iOS app, but I can't get a value for ARTrackingState. It returns that it's not available.
    How do I get it?
    And is ARInterface maintained? And/or are there other cross platform (ARKit/ARCore) solutions?
     
  21. Griffo

    Griffo

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    700
    Hi,

    I've just updated to 1.5 and now get this error message ..

    UnityEngine.XR.iOS.UnityARCamera' does not contain a definition for `lightEstimation'

    Can someone please tell me why, thanks ..
     
  22. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    Can you give more details? Is this in the editor? If so, which file is complaining about this? Could you capture more of the messages around the error? It's more than likely that you have some code in your project that is referencing a much older version of the plugin.
     
  23. Griffo

    Griffo

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    700
    Hi,

    Sorry it was my mistake, I'm using the UnityARInterface and didn't update it, found your link to the latest version and all seem well again, thanks.
     
  24. Snupiman

    Snupiman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    I'm getting the same error with 2017.2.1f1. Just found out in release notes for 2017.3 this: "Fixed various issues in PlayerConnection and EditorConnection, player connect and disconnect should work properly now." Now I hope this is my issue.

    Dunno about face tracking data but you need to have "ARKitRemoteConnection" prefab in the scene to connect. However, on 2017.2.1f1 it gets me to above error.
     
  25. Snupiman

    Snupiman

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    Had the same error on 2017.3.1. Went back to manual and realized that I missed one step. Turn on "Development Build" but I also turned on "Autoconnect Profiler" before hitting "Build & Run".

    No more connection error! All working now!
     
  26. mirostraka

    mirostraka

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Posts:
    41
    hey @jimmya ,thanks for the great work! Is there a reason for discontinuing support for Unity 5 with ARKit 1.5, or is it just discarding old versions of Unity? I ask because I would love to update the game with latest ARKit version, however I do not want to move the project to the new version of Unity at this moment, as I should produce this update very quickly.
     
  27. shaundavies

    shaundavies

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hey is anyone using the new bitbucket update? The script UnityARBuildPostprocessor - I have to add :
    Using UnityEditor.iOS.Xcode;

    Also I cannot get the old UnityArkitRemote app to work with the new update. When trying to connect my phone to unity with remoteConnection i get: Invalid log type 1769104723.

    I also cannot build through Xcode with the new update. Getting many errors repeatedly showing undeclared identifier and unknown name type, basically for anything along the lines starting with AR - i.e. ARReferenceImage
    I have tried to build both the UnityARKitRemote and UnityArVideoFormats; getting same errors.

    I am using Unity 2017.3.1.1f1

    ----
    Am I missing something causing these errors?
     
  28. erenbakac

    erenbakac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    2



    I have the same errors after using bitbucket spring apple branch.

    I use
    -2017.3.1.1f1
    -mac os 10.13.3
    -xcode 9.3 beta2
     
  29. norahx3x

    norahx3x

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    can I know how did you place it on top of the table without changing its position and without touching the screen? thank you
     
  30. ina

    ina

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Posts:
    1,085
    Hi Jimmy - can you also put in release notes which versions of Unity you have tested the latest unitypackage to work with? There are now many versions of even just Unity 2017 and even a ton of patch versions. Have you tested it to work with 2017.3.1f1?
     
  31. norahx3x

    norahx3x

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    how did you stop changing plain place after detection? and how you place the object without touch the screen?
     
    MadeFromPolygons likes this.
  32. jonathaniscarroll

    jonathaniscarroll

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Hi there -
    We were hoping to use the truedepth front facing camera to snap a grey-scale depth picture (see attached)
    Haven't been able to figure it out from the mesh data in the facetracking example
    Any directions you would recommend?
    Thanks so much!
     

    Attached Files:

  33. erenbakac

    erenbakac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    hi @jimmya

    UnityArkitRemote scene is empty in the latest branch(spring). Can you check it please?
     
  34. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    It hasn't changed since last December: https://bitbucket.org/Unity-Technol...yARKitPlugin/ARKitRemote?at=spring2018_update
     
  35. brotar

    brotar

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I have a problem with testing vertical plane detection. I'm using "spring2018_update" branch.
    - Unity2017.3.0f3
    - Xcode 9.3 Beta
    - MacOS 10.13(High Sierra)
    - iOS 11.2.6 + iPhone 6s

    Screen Shot 2018-02-23 at 6.31.23 PM.png

    When I test on device, app crashes and I can see this error in Xcode. Anyone have an idea about this issue?
    Do I have to update iOS version as 11.3(beta)?
     
  36. mantekkerz

    mantekkerz

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    111
    @believedream817 Yes you need to use 11.3 beta to run the spring update branch.
     
  37. douglas8112

    douglas8112

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    does anyone have a favorite plugin in the asset store to use touch for pinch to resize / move. Ive tried a few like "Lean" and I cant seem to get them to work with my single 3d asset
     
  38. kwkw

    kwkw

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    IMG_0003.PNG i am using UnityARimageAnchor from spring2018_update. why object not spawn on the center of marker?
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2018
  39. iamchathu

    iamchathu

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    I just started with ARKit and I have recently updated to 2017.3 from 2017.2.

    I updated because Point Cloud Particle Example wasn't loading. Updating Unity also was a mistake.

    I get error in every frame when debugging with XCode

    IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.

    at PointCloudParticleExample.Update ()

    Edit: I found out the more error info after very hard run with ARKitRemote

    IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
    PointCloudParticleExample.Update () (at Assets/UnityARKitPlugin/Plugins/iOS/UnityARKit/Helpers/PointCloudParticleExample.cs:36)


    After I updated Unity to 2017.3 the ARKit remote is not working. I keep getting

    Screen position out of view frustum (screen pos 453.000000, 0.000000, 1000.000000) (Camera rect 0 0 453 806)

    When I run the project which was working with 2017.2

    I did reimport all also but still same.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2018
  40. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    Did you specify the size of the marker correctly? That also determines how it detects the marker; see https://developer.apple.com/documentation/arkit/recognizing_images_in_an_ar_experience

    "Enter the physical size of the image in Xcode as accurately as possible. ARKit relies on this information to determine the distance of the image from the camera. Entering an incorrect physical size will result in an ARImageAnchor that’s the wrong distance from the camera."

    In our case, we specify the physical size on the ARReferenceImage.asset
     
  41. kwkw

    kwkw

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Yes thank you jimmya
     
  42. sdprasad

    sdprasad

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Is your Menu Scene having camera usage?
     
  43. bennylame

    bennylame

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I've searched for the problem I'm facing but haven't managed to find anything regarding it in this thread. Basically I want to augment the same virtual reality for two devices in the same real world space.

    • I have each device detecting a plane
    • When I click on the plane that is detected I switch scene to a network lobby.
    • Once both players are ready I switch to the GameScene.

    I manage to save a plane for each device (locally) but what I really want to do is to sync them up in someway. I have watched the "So you think you can augment reality?"-talk and want to do something similar in ARKit without using ARInterface.
     
  44. Fl0oW

    Fl0oW

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    I just found out that in order to block users with devices < iPhone6S from downloading an ARApp on the AppStore I need to set an flag with value "arkit" in "Required device capabilities" in the Info.plist file in XCode. Is there a way to do that in Unity directly? Would be much appreciated, because otherwise I'm kinda scared I will overlook that flag again, which then leads to users with wrong devices downloading the App and experiencing crashes.
     
  45. MadeFromPolygons

    MadeFromPolygons

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    3,982
    It wouldnt pass app store certification if you didnt tick the flag anyway.
     
  46. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/ark...nity-arkit-plugin.474385/page-43#post-3297582
     
    Fl0oW likes this.
  47. guoyaxin

    guoyaxin

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    arkit1.5 when publish to asset store
     
  48. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
  49. Fl0oW

    Fl0oW

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    It already did pass, and is available on the Appstore. That's how I found out about that flag in the first place. The thing is that there are Apps which use ARKit as an Add-on rather than as a core functionality, so users should still be able to download such an App even if their phone doesn't support ARKit. But for fully ARKit-based Apps the App just crashes as soon as ARKit tries to initialise.
     
  50. jimmya

    jimmya

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    793
    As mentioned elsewhere, you can support ARKit mode in an app that runs on non-ARKit supported phones by making sure you first check the ARKitWorldTrackingSessionConfiguration.IsSupported() before you initialize ARKit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.