Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

[ARKit] Glitch with environment probe texture

Discussion in 'AR' started by Numa, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. Numa

    Numa

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    Hi there,

    I'm getting weird jumps in the reflections when using ARKit's environment probes.


    At first I thought the object was getting past the probe's box but it still happens even after making the object smaller, or the box really big.
    It's not due to the probe being updated either, since it goes back and forth even when I'm not moving, and doesn't happen if I walk around the object, only when spinning the object.
    The reflection seems somehow accurate, I can discern parts of the room in both textures.

    It looks like the probe swaps between different faces of the cube map?

    I'm using the default code and prefabs from the ARKit plugin examples.

    Any help appreciated!
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
  2. Electrino123456

    Electrino123456

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    same here - using the sample scene only the first probe updates rarely - like every second or so - and all the subsequent probes update only at generation once - but never again...
     
  3. aaaavvvv

    aaaavvvv

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    I'm also having the same issue
     
  4. Numa

    Numa

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    38
    Would love a response from Unity...

    A partial fix for me was to go to Project settings, Graphics, and in the relevant tier tick the box for Reflection Probes Blending. But it doesn't fix it 100%
    Also make sure you have the latest version of the arkit plugin, I've seen some commits in there with updates to the way reflection probes are handled.
     
    ROBYER1 likes this.
  5. eco_bach

    eco_bach

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,316