Search Unity

ARFoundation - Keeping GameObject within Plane Boundary

Discussion in 'AR' started by dwilliams82, Dec 22, 2018.

1. dwilliams82

dwilliams82

Hey all,

I am new to Unity and AR (and forum posting so apologies if formatting isn't correct). I am modifying the arfoundation-samples-master project to control the game object placed on the detected AR plane with on-screen joystick (free Virtual JoyStick Pack from the asset store). Unity version I started on was 2018.2.18f1 and am now running 2018.3.0f2. Build settings are set for Android and I am testing on a Pixel 2 XL.

The placing of the object and moving it with the joystick works properly. However, I want to limit the game object's movement to the bounds of the plane it is on like what happens in the project by default when dragging the object by touch. I have looked through the ARSessionOrigin and ARPlaneManager code and can't figure out which code (or inspector settings?) is responsible for this behavior when dragging. I have also looked at the ARPlane API and tried iterating through all the planes in the current session's ARPlaneManager and using TryGetBoundary() on each one to test if the game object is within its boundary but it always came back false regardless of where the object is on the plane.

I have the Joystick on a canvas and have an EventSystem in the scene. I have tried both making the canvas a child of ARSessionOrigin and not a child. The canvas is set to Screen Space - Overlay. I have a Canvas Scaler and GraphicRaycaster attached to the canvas although these may have been a result of previous testing, I can't remember offhand.

The Vector3 created from the joystick movement is:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Vector3 moveVector = (Vector3.right * joystick.Horizontal + Vector3.forward * joystick.Vertical);
    The object's rotation:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. spawnedObject.transform.rotation = Quaternion.LookRotation(moveVector);
    I have tried moving the object using this: