Search Unity

Resolved ARFoundation AR Face reversed

Discussion in 'AR' started by carlosfgzz, Mar 3, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carlosfgzz

carlosfgzz

Hi all.

I'm fairly new to Unity and I'm doing some tests detecting face with ARFoundation but the face mesh always shows like inverted or with normals inverted as shown in the images. I followed this tutorial:

What could be the problem and what solution do you recommend me to follow to straighten the AR face mesh.

Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. KyryloKuzyk

KyryloKuzyk

I'm not sure why this happens for you, but maybe I can help with the general direction of thoughts.
    Your issue is very similar to setting the 'invertCulling' to false on Android. You can achieve the same "face inversion" result if you disable the ARCameraBackground component on ARCamera. The ARCameraBackground is responsible for setting inverted culling to true on Android:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. commandBuffer.SetInvertCulling(m_CommandBufferCullingState);

3. carlosfgzz

carlosfgzz

Thank you very much for your reply KirillKuzyk. I tried disablig the ARCameraBackground component on ARCamera as you suggested but now all the background is black when I run on my device (image below), just the collar ref mesh is shown. What else do you think I could try to fix this?

Also, where do I implement the code you suggested?
    Code (CSharp):
    1. commandBuffer.SetInvertCulling(m_CommandBufferCullingState);
    Thanks.

Attached Files:

4. KyryloKuzyk

KyryloKuzyk

Unfortunately, I don't have a solution to your problem. I just pointed out that your issue is very similar to setting 'invert culling' to false on Android. AR Foundation (ARCameraBackground.cs) is responsible for setting this setting to a correct value, there should be no need to set it manually.

5. TreyK-47

TreyK-47

Unity Technologies

After connecting with the team, it was suggested that you try a later version of AR Foundation, like version 4.1.