Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

ARCore on iOS

Discussion in 'AR' started by StefanAugmentors, Aug 29, 2018.

  1. StefanAugmentors

    StefanAugmentors

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Due to issues with ARKit crashing our game, how would we go about using ARCore instead since it's compatible with some iPhones?
     
  2. samizzo

    samizzo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Posts:
    487
    rob_ice likes this.
  3. rob_ice

    rob_ice

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Posts:
    112
    Please read the Google ARcore 'Quick Start' guide as it states that the ARcore support is only through cloud anchors - the IOS version of the ARCore sample apps uses ARKit still for IOS devices as ARCore isn't supported for anything other than cloud anchors on IOS
     
  4. StefanAugmentors

    StefanAugmentors

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks for the responses. Is there a way to do it with AR Foundation package?
     
  5. tdmowrer

    tdmowrer

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Posts:
    605
    There is an ARKit XR Plugin package (for use with ARFoundation), which is different than the ARKit plugin on bitbucket, but without knowing what the issue is, I can't say whether this will solve your problem.

    Can you elaborate on the crash? A bug report with a project that reproduces the issue would be helpful, too.
     
  6. StefanAugmentors

    StefanAugmentors

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Posts:
    15
  7. DigitalBeach

    DigitalBeach

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Does the ARKit XR Plugin package support AR Cloud Anchors or is there a compatible package for that? We have been struggling to get cloud anchors working in 2018 with the package system and AR Foundation to all live together.

    This thread documents issue but not a lot or real help on core issue.
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/arfoundation-cloud-anchors.538793/
     
  8. tdmowrer

    tdmowrer

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Posts:
    605
  9. tdmowrer

    tdmowrer

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Posts:
    605
    The only way to get cloud anchors currently is to use the plugin provided by Google. We plan to have feature parity with aARKi 2 and ARCore 1.3 by the end of the year.
     
  10. DigitalBeach

    DigitalBeach

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    How does that live with 2018 and the package system? Do we have to remove AR Foundation and the ARKit/Core packages and do them manually? That is what is not clear. How to do what you say in 2018.
     
  11. tdmowrer

    tdmowrer

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Posts:
    605
    You would not use ARFoundation or any of the AR packages in this case.