Search Unity

Architecture query (ScriptableObject / MonoBehaviour)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by bazzawood, Sep 23, 2019.

1. bazzawood

bazzawood

Hi,

First a bit of background, I am new to Unity and component based architecture but have > 20 years of commercial software development and even worked as a game dev back in the PS2 days. I drew a lot of inspiration from https://unity3d.com/how-to/architect-with-scriptable-objects (I too think singletons are devil spawn or something that suggests badly thought out architecture but they seem to get thrown around like lollies in Unity discussions). But after reading this thread https://forum.unity.com/threads/scriptableobject-createinstance-vs-instantiate.515757/ I fully respect everything that @Lysander had to say.

I have a working solution but am curious to get some thoughts on design / improvements or areas that are not "ideal". Essentially I have a randomly generated world in which areas of the world can be generated / modified / even removed at runtime. Different components will need to reference these generated areas so need to be accessible. I ended up with the following main systems.
    1. Area dictionary <position, Area> (MB): Accessible to anything that needs to access an area
    2. Area (class): Contains Area GO reference + some core information around an area
    3. Area prefab: Instantiates on creation of an area, has a bunch of components that generate and maintain the Area details
    4. A "World" Singleton that is used by Area components to reference
    Previously I had architected the entire solution using ScriptableObjects and RuntimeSets but @Lysanders arguments persuaded me that I was abusing what a SO should be used for.

I have a core question around this architecture but also am open to improvements.