Search Unity

Question AR Foundation - Android App does not want to quit, but simply minimizes

Discussion in 'AR' started by newguy123, Feb 17, 2023.

  1. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    1,248
    Hi Guys

    I have a canvas button with some code, to quit my app. However on Android the app does not quit, but it simply goes to the background, ie it keeps running. How can I get it to properly quit?

    Here is my code I'm currently using:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.SceneManagement;
    5.  
    6. public class SwitchScenes : MonoBehaviour {
    7.  
    8.     public void QuitApp()
    9.     {
    10.         #if UNITY_EDITOR
    11.             // Application.Quit() does not work in the editor so
    12.             // UnityEditor.EditorApplication.isPlaying need to be set to false to end the game
    13.             UnityEditor.EditorApplication.isPlaying = false;
    14.         #else
    15.             Application.Quit();
    16.         #endif
    17.     }
    18.  
    19.     public void Awake()
    20.     {
    21.         Screen.sleepTimeout = SleepTimeout.NeverSleep;
    22.     }
    23.  
    24. }
     
  2. andyb-unity

    andyb-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2022
    Posts:
    1,062
  3. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    1,248
    The problem is actualy deeper than this @andyb-unity when I try to quit the app:
    On Android the app just goes to background
    On iOS it crashes
     
  4. SF_FrankvHoof

    SF_FrankvHoof

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2022
    Posts:
    780
    Are you running any threads?
     
  5. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    1,248
    unlikely, seeing that I have no idea what that is
     
  6. andyb-unity

    andyb-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2022
    Posts:
    1,062
    Are you able to reproduce this issue in our Samples app? It sounds like something else in your project might be causing the behavior you describe.