Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

AQUAS Water/River Set - Water & Rivers for Mobile, VR, Web, Desktop

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by dogmachris, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. IrishJohnGaming

    IrishJohnGaming

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Hey guys! Just wondering how I can achieve this wake effect from boats in Aquas? Not seeing anything in the demos, nothing in the scripts either.

    upload_2020-6-22_2-27-19.png

    Many thanks!,
    Irish John
     
  2. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    529
    Does anyone know how this works or runs in the oculus quest? I'm not concerned with real-time reflections only using a reflection probe for the reflection and if it can run under single pass rendering is all that matters in mobile vr. Any info would be great before I make a purchase.
     
  3. jnbbender

    jnbbender

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Posts:
    367
    2 questions:
    How would I create larger waves?
    I am not getting any of the water color when I go under the water. What I mean is, the water looks fine but if I'm using the Swamp water on a sunny day and I go under, I don't see any darkness, only bright light from the sky.
    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
  4. Bryan-Legend

    Bryan-Legend

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Posts:
    67
    Any chance we could get multiple terrains support added to the shore mask generator? I've got 16 terrains stitched together in my project, mainly to support different biomes.
     
  5. jnbbender

    jnbbender

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Posts:
    367
    Anybody still working with this asset? This forum looks pretty dried up.
     
  6. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    153
  7. Magic73

    Magic73

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Posts:
    101
    He replied.. what? ;)
     
  8. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    153
    He replied his answer to my question. What I'm saying though is if you can't get a response on here, you can always try to directly contact the developer.
     
    hopeful and Magic73 like this.
  9. A2GStudios

    A2GStudios

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Posts:
    52
    I imported Aquas into my project and have an error can you help me with this, thanks

    Assets\AQUAS\Scripts\AQUAS_CameraSwitcher.cs(28,125): error CS0103: The name 'AssetDatabase' does not exist in the current context
     
  10. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    538
    I thought he fixed that. The camera switcher was only for the demo. I think you can delete it.
    Maybe save a copy just in case you need to add it back.
    Good luck!
     
  11. lsgheero

    lsgheero

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    39
    upload_2020-7-19_16-13-48.png
    Anyone know how to fix this issue underwater
     
  12. Lily500

    Lily500

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,
    I have a scene in which objects all have a large scale. I need to create a sea coast with foam where the water meets the land. Can I scale up the foam to accommodate the scene's large scale?
    I have tried another water package and found the foam is way too small and cannot be scaled up.
    I basically need to use the water features but have them all scaled up substantially.
    Is this possible?
    Many thanks in advance :)
     
  13. Xialya

    Xialya

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Posts:
    52
    Heya,

    Any ETA for the URP update?
    I really need this for my project. :/
     
    Arathorn_J likes this.
  14. Duffer123

    Duffer123

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    1,133
    @dogmachris ,

    How close are we to a Unity 2019.4 LTS and URP update? Also, can you fix the next release to be integrated fully with GAIA 2/Pro and Enviro? If you can do this, happy to give this 5 stars... ;)
     
    Arathorn_J likes this.
  15. IrishDev

    IrishDev

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    AQUAS is integrated into GAIA PRO
    You need to update the first line in the AQUAS_Gaia script:
    From
    #if GAIA_PRESENT && UNITY_EDITOR
    To
    #if GAIA_2_PRESENT && UNITY_EDITOR
    Then re-start the GAIA Manager
     
  16. IrishDev

    IrishDev

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    Hmm looks like I was incorrect - sorry
    While this will add AQUAS to the GAIA Manager it will not fully integrate it nor does it play nicely with Enviro....
     
    Duffer123 likes this.
  17. Duffer123

    Duffer123

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    1,133
    @IrishDev , yep the underwater effects are unhinged ...
     
    IrishDev likes this.
  18. EDarkness

    EDarkness

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    470
    Is it possible to use this asset without a terrain? I just want a water plane and it used to do that....
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  19. S4G4N

    S4G4N

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Posts:
    2,945
    As far as I know that should not be a problem, as the water sits on its own geometry not dependent of Terrain at all
     
  20. EDarkness

    EDarkness

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    470
    When I tried to add it in, there were a ton of errors. I'm just gonna make my own 2D water shader, I think.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  21. WILEz1975

    WILEz1975

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    336
    Is there a tutorial or guide on how to manage the ripples effect? (AQUA 2020)
    The guide is quite sparse.
    The ripple effect does not always work as it should.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2020
  22. Skotrap7

    Skotrap7

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Posts:
    87
    Hi, I just applied AQUAS 2020 to my multi-terrain world and am seeing some interesting rendering effects along the coastline. Any tips on how to debug/fix this?

    upload_2020-10-7_15-13-51.png
     
  23. EntertainmentEnterprise

    EntertainmentEnterprise

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    18
    Dogma Chris, can I help update this to URP? I'm updating the shaders manually and also updating them for Single Pass Instanced because I need them for a URP XR project... It has been way too long that support was promised, and I'd hate to have this asset die as it is the best water solution on the store that I've used. Please answer!
     
    Oblivionized and Arathorn_J like this.
  24. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    538
    You might try his email?
    Then let us all know what he said. ;)
     
  25. mobilEKG

    mobilEKG

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    For a mobile (iOS) game, AQUAS Water/River Set, AQUAS Water LITE, AQUAS 2020, which one should I start with?
     
  26. Jakub1199

    Jakub1199

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,
    I'm greenhorn when it comes to unity and game developing, but I want to create a grand-strategy game, for terrain creating I'm using NASA World height map and Barymetric map of the oceans and seas. I know it'll be hard though but I really enjoy it.

    The problem is that when I'm zooming out the water is beggining to "disappear" where it touches the coastlines (img below). I need to fix it so the world will be still looking good even when the camera fov covers whole EurAsia and part of africa.

    (The terrain is flipped vertically in relation to the real world, but on the stage of playing with creation and looking for the best solution it is not important)

    So this is how the test world looks without water:
    1)


    Heightmap I used for generating the world with oceans depths and land height (I've combined two heightmaps in GIMP)

    It is 4097x4097 Heightmap which I used to create 2048x2048 terrain with 35 overall height.

    And this is how it looks like with water added to terrain, I've underlined the distruptions which appear when I'm zooming out:



    In the next post is the image that shows how the map looks when zooming out really far.


    I was trying to manipulate various variables of material and water plane in unity but nothing seems to work.
    Anyone had a similar problem and solved it?

    Any help will be aprecieated.
    Thanks in advance :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020
  27. mgmhunt

    mgmhunt

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    @Jakub1199 looks like mipmapping and anisotropic filtering. You will most likely need to introduce LoD object models to cater for zoom levels and distance from camera rather than relying on a single high resolution object which will affect performance.
     
    Jakub1199 and Zante like this.
  28. Jakub1199

    Jakub1199

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Alright, I solved my problem by an accident. So I was messing around with LOD and anisotropy levels for terrain materials, and then I've changed "pixel" error from 5 to 1 and it was a solution for my problem.

    To be honest at first I haven;t even supposed that the probelm was beeing generated by the terrain itself :v
    But happily everything is fine :)

    @mgmhunt Thanks for replying!
     
    mgmhunt likes this.
  29. Techips

    Techips

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Posts:
    240
    Still no URP Support moving on to Crest. It's been 6 months since you talk about URP support with no ETA.
     
unityunity