Search Unity

AQUAS Water/River Set - Water & Rivers for Mobile, VR, Web, Desktop

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by dogmachris, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. darshie1976

    darshie1976

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Posts:
    924
    camta005 likes this.
  2. xxluky

    xxluky

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Hello, I am having troubles with your AQUAS SET on some Android Devices. Everything seems ok on devices using GLES 3.0 and 3.1 but I have some wrong behaviour on MyPhone Hammer LTE that is using GLES 2.0. Please see the screenshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. BunnyViking

    BunnyViking

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I tried adding an aquas 2020 instance to a gaiai pro terrain but I cant seem to get underwater working. I tried creating a new camera and that didnt help. It looks like everything is there on the camera.

    The test scene "depth support" works fine.
     
  4. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    @Hawk0077
    I cannot say where that particular spike comes from, but generally at least part of the screen has to be rendered twice when using the depth support component, so it might be that.

    I have just uploaded an update, that will allow to specify a layer mask for the depth support component. You can then put everything that shouldn't be considered by the depth support component on a separate layer and cull that layer in the settings of the depth support component.
     
    camta005 and Hawk0077 like this.
  5. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    Are you using the old AQUAS or AQUAS 2020 in that video?

    If you only want to render the surface of the water without underwater effects that should work, but depending on the type of rendering (single pass or multi pass), realtime reflections may be an issue. If performance is your biggest problem, please first try to disable realtime reflections in the material settings and disable the AQUAS_Reflections.cs component on the waterplane. Does that make any difference?

    P.S.: VR support for AQUAS 2020 is currently limited. I also wrote this in the asset description after some users reported strange behaviour in VR. I will start working on ensuring compatibility as soon as I can.
     
  6. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    It would be possible, but only with a somewhat hacky solution, since AQUAS wan't created with that kind of usecase in mind. You would have to have a second camera that renders underwater effects. The camera ought to render to a rendertexture and that rendertexture would then have to be passed to the shader for the surface of the aquarium walls. It should work, but it's all but ideal, considering that the camera would have to render your entire scene once more with image effects, which is extremely costly only to get the aquarium effects.
    Honestly I would rather go about and make custom shaders for the aquarium walls, rather than make AQUAS do it.
     
    Harald_Heide likes this.
  7. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    I just submitted an update for AQUAS 2020. Underwater effects using the simple setup (without partial submersion) should work on all mobile devices. iOS should also work with advances underwater effects, but I wouldn't recommend it, since it's rather costly for a mobile device.

    As for VR: VR support of AQUAS 2020 is rather limited. I have tested it before submitting the initial release, but since then users have reported strange behaviours, so I highlighted that in the asset description too. Next on my agenda is to establish full support for VR (multi and single pass).
     
  8. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    Hm... have you tried reducing the wave speed in the material settings of the waterplane?
     
  9. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    May I ask if you're using the old AQUAS or AQUAS 2020?
     
  10. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    Can you share a screenshot of what you get?
     
  11. xxluky

    xxluky

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Hello, thanks for your support. I was using the older AQUAS asset (installing in september). Today I downloaded the new AQUAS 2020 to give it a try. I noticed there are no mobile shaders at all! So I used the desktop one, specifically "/Font/Default". I hit play in the Unity Editor with platform switched to Android and I can see my terrain is mirroring in the water's transparency. It is undesired behaviour. It is not a reflection of the terrain but its mirroring. I said ok, lets build it to Android device. Error accured (again it seems to be a problem with GLES):

    Error building Player: Shader error in 'AQUAS/Misc/Bubble': Duplicate system value semantic definition: input semantic 'SV_POSITION' and input semantic 'VPOS' at line 87 (on gles)

    So a deleted this shader because I don't need it in my project. Building my apk successful. But on my Android I can see the water in magenta color. It usualy means the material is missing.

    Please tell me how can I set it up for mobile otherwise this asset is useless for me.

    Update: I finally get rid of the mirroring effect by switching my camera mode from Forward to Deferred. But anyway, in my build I need to use the forward rendering. But this fixed the issue only in editor not in the apk build.

    Update: I found that water's magenta color shows only on my problematic device using OpenGL ES 2.0 where I reported the problem with AQUAS water using the older version. On the other devices using OpenGL ES 3.0 and 3.1 the new water shows correctly.
    So the answer to your question: my problem is in older version of AQUAS but also in the new one 2020.
    The water is really heavy for my Android phone consuming all my FPS. It is maybe because of the shader for Desktop?

    I noticed that in the apk build (on myPhone Hammer) it seems it looks like the opaque shader. I have no idea why. I am not using the opaque shader at all. I tried to use all materials in the package on my phone - all mobile and desktop but all of them look the same as on a picture below.
    I also tried to include all shaders in Graphics settings -> always loaded shaders but no luck.

    Update: So I tested the asset on 5 more low end Android devices (all using openGL ES 2) and I found the same problem on all of them. Your asset is not working on low end using GLES 2.
    - The older asset tested - it look like opaque shader
    - AQUAS 2020 tested - water is shown as magenta color

    I hope this will be fixed as soon as possible!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  12. Carmelblob

    Carmelblob

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    No, I have not. But I will go find it and try it now. I was not sure where the that setting was and did not readily see it. TYVM
    I will let you know how it works out.

    *Update*

    So the wave setting did not work. I complicated the problem I am overwriting your water material with the new lava material to add emisives. I will dig into theirs a little bit and see if I can find a place to adjust speed outside of their framework.

    I could also add random spawns to the surface of it to detract from the speed at which it is moving...
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  13. ibearjp

    ibearjp

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    Latest Aquas 2020 update slowdown my project, is there ways to rowback?

    Edit:After adding Aquas_Depth Support for enviro maybe the cause.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
  14. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,736
    @dogmachris I am trying Aquas 2020 in Unity 2019.3.0f3 and get the following error when running the Buoyancy Demo scene:

    Failed to create Convex Mesh from source mesh "Cube". Reached the maximum polygons limit (256). Consider simplifying your mesh.
     
  15. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    376
    That is one complex cube. :confused:
     
    magique likes this.
  16. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,736
    @dogmachris When I use the setup wizard to add advanced underwater effects, I get the following error:


    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    AQUAS.AQUAS_SetupWizard.AddUnderwaterEffects () (at Assets/AQUAS 2020/Scripts/Editor/AQUAS_SetupWizard.cs:479)
    AQUAS.AQUAS_SetupWizard.OnGUI () (at Assets/AQUAS 2020/Scripts/Editor/AQUAS_SetupWizard.cs:200)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <437ba245d8404784b9fbab9b439ac908>:0)
    Rethrow as TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Reflection.BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) (at <437ba245d8404784b9fbab9b439ac908>:0)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase.Invoke (System.Object obj, System.Object[] parameters) (at <437ba245d8404784b9fbab9b439ac908>:0)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName, System.Object obj) (at <83a73882c51c4602b3d34743827d03e7>:0)
    UnityEditor.HostView.Invoke (System.String methodName) (at <83a73882c51c4602b3d34743827d03e7>:0)
    UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (UnityEngine.Rect onGUIPosition, UnityEngine.Rect viewRect) (at <83a73882c51c4602b3d34743827d03e7>:0)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.DrawView (UnityEngine.Rect viewRect, UnityEngine.Rect dockAreaRect) (at <83a73882c51c4602b3d34743827d03e7>:0)
    UnityEditor.DockArea.OldOnGUI () (at <83a73882c51c4602b3d34743827d03e7>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoOnGUI (UnityEngine.Event evt, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 parentTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean isComputingLayout, UnityEngine.Rect layoutSize, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleIMGUIEvent (UnityEngine.Event e, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 worldTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleIMGUIEvent (UnityEngine.Event e, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.SendEventToIMGUI (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.CallbackEventHandler.HandleEventAtTargetPhase (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.MouseCaptureDispatchingStrategy.DispatchEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ProcessEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ProcessEventQueue () (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.OpenGate () (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcherGate.Dispose () (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.ProcessEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.EventDispatcher.Dispatch (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase evt, UnityEngine.UIElements.IPanel panel, UnityEngine.UIElements.DispatchMode dispatchMode) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.BaseVisualElementPanel.SendEvent (UnityEngine.UIElements.EventBase e, UnityEngine.UIElements.DispatchMode dispatchMode) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility.DoDispatch (UnityEngine.UIElements.BaseVisualElementPanel panel) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr) (at <a24e7ce9cb384beb988b124973437b7f>:0)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr) (at <59837000ebf54955a9cb1d31caa86097>:0)

    I'm using Unity 2019.3.0f3
     
  17. ibearjp

    ibearjp

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    No support? Hmm can i get refund?
     
    nerdsarewinning likes this.
  18. arachai79

    arachai79

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Getting this error:
    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    AQUAS.AQUAS_CamLock.Start () (at Assets/AQUAS 2020/Scripts/AQUAS_CamLock.cs:78)
    Assign the camera to the camlock script and click scale to frustrum; error hits. Then when I add depth support on the camera I get ghost objects appearing
     
  19. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    243
    Check this post, it's the same error line 78:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/aqu...le-vr-web-desktop.378519/page-54#post-5207351
     
    arachai79 likes this.
  20. Chuckalicious

    Chuckalicious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    In scene and game view I can see the foam on the edge but when I run the game the foam does not show up. The shader has not been touched and everything appears to be there. In fact, I just added the water to my scene and haven't messed with anything. What have I missed?
     
  21. SLASH24

    SLASH24

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Posts:
    137
    hi there ! I've just purchased aquas 2020, it's easy to setup, but as a result when I move my camera in runtime, the water is always clipping, blinking, it appears and disapears. I'm using map magic for terrain and enviro sky.
    I've read that aquas 2020 water is infinite, till the horizon, but to me, it's not. I've also searched through the options and didn't find anything to fix that.

    I need some help please
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2019
  22. hoodoo

    hoodoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Posts:
    149
    Hi @dogmachris - Happy New Year!

    Do you have a discord channel for Aquas or do you have plans to set one up?
     
  23. hoodoo

    hoodoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Posts:
    149
    I'm seeing a big white area when viewing the shore from underwater. Any ideas on how to fix? Thanks!
    upload_2019-12-31_12-53-34.png
     
  24. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    376
    Just a guess here.
    Try checking the boundary, turning it off, to see if that is it. The older version would add a boundary that looked similar to that and I would delete it so I would not have to look at it.
    Happy New Year!
     
  25. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    243
    For infinite water you need to add the AQUAS_CamLock.cs script to your water plane. Check the infinite water demo for an example of this.
     
  26. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    In Aquas2020 when I add AQUAS_Depth Support.cs to MainCamera, shore foam effect dissapears. Any helps?
     
  27. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    243
    It will be because of how the culling mask is set up. Aquas 2020 needs to know how deep the terrain is under it to add foam and shore line transparency. So make sure you aren't masking out your terrain layer. You can also put your trees on a separate layer from your terrain by checking 'Preserve Tree Prototype Layers' in the terrain settings.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2020
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  28. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I don't have trees in terrain, checked camera culling setup but seems correct. When I remove AQUAS_Depth Support.cs from camera and start scene foams seems great. Also, my AQUAS_Depth Support.cs in camera is setup like this:

    Water Plane: AQUAS Waterplane 0
    Culling Mask: Water

    Can you direct me to the point, what should I check. Shader render order or somewhere else? Can you please help and explain more?
     
  29. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    243
    Have a look at your terrain in the inspector and assign it to its own layer, then include the layer your terrain is on in the culling mask setting for the AQUAS_DepthSupport component.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  30. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    I added it, now, I can see underwater terrain(water become clearer/more transparent) but no foams at shore :(
     
  31. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    243
    Have you tried re-adjusting your foam settings like visibilty, contrast and intensity?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2020
  32. Clydey2Times

    Clydey2Times

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Posts:
    190
    I'm having an issue with Aquas that is hard to describe. Changing camera position seems to make the water plane change from light to dark. I've provided a video, below. Occlusion culling data has been cleared, so that isn't the issue. I'm totally at a loss, so any help is greatly appreciated.

     
  33. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Yes, when I remove AQUAS_Depth Support.cs from the camera and run scene everything seems fine (foam and water visibility), the only problem is fog. So this is why I am adding AQUAS_Depth Support.cs to the camera. But it removes foams...
     
  34. NazeGames

    NazeGames

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, i would like use the underwater with a split screen t is possible ? i Don't find the answer can you help me please ?
     
  35. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    No support... I am started to search for other water solutions. I am really disappointed cause I am not a professional shader programmer so need support but I got no helps. 1 week passed already... Unity staff should able us to return unsupported assets. :mad: @Clydey2Times @hoodoo @ibearjp guys u got support? Or refunded? I will call Unity center and we can send mail to Unity team about developer company.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  36. Clydey2Times

    Clydey2Times

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Posts:
    190
    No, I didn't get any support. No one on here has responded to me. :/
     
  37. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    We must review it as a 1-star asset. No support = Money trap. I switched to Lux Water and it's awesome. How can we refund this catchpenny? 2 weeks passed, with glitchy underwaters, fog glitches, and no support..... :confused::mad: @Clydey2Times
     
  38. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    @BunnyWiki @doozler @Jbaker08 @FargleBargle
     
  39. MagiSoftworks

    MagiSoftworks

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Posts:
    117
    Hi All - Aquas is not a "Money Trap" - Actually seems like a reactionary post and that term I see is being thrown around to much these days on the wrong assets. Chris set the level in unity for water when Aquas first came out.
    I do agree support on the forum is a bit lacking but in the end Aquas 2020 will be solid. We don't want good asset providers to drop out because us users are so critical during major product releases.
    We need to work with them with testing in different scenarios as they provide updates for stabilization and advancements. Now Chris, get in here an answer some tech questions. lol
     
  40. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    376
    Just a question. Has anyone tried to PM @dogmachris ?
    I know he hasn't been here, but Unity has a way of not always letting people know what is happening in the forums.
    I know he should be here every day, but you know how sometimes life gets in the way of what we would really want to do. Just saying and asking, before everyone gets too upset.

    I have tried to help, but I don't know the answers and I have even been PM'd on an issue with Aquas to see if I found a solution because I tried to help someone else.

    Just wondering if anyone has tried all available avenues yet?

    Or has Chris really disappeared. I do hope he is ok.
     
    hopeful, sstrong and MagiSoftworks like this.
  41. MagiSoftworks

    MagiSoftworks

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Posts:
    117
    Nice Post Dsilverhorn - My input (Which is probably off) - Working with Aquas from day one Chris has always brought us something new and eventually a product that is amazing. I doubt he has if any "Assistants" to help him (Like many providers at Aquas Level) have. One thing I do like about Chris is he is recording and releasing very in depth tutorials which have guided my crew threw the new advancements. There are other "Heavy hitter" asset providers that have amazing product -BUT- very outdated tutorials. We can't train on that. We have worked through some issues but overall its looking like this will be another Unity Water Physics break through over time. :) Chris, feel free to chime in. lol[/QUOTE]
     
    camta005 and dsilverthorn like this.
  42. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    376
    [/QUOTE]
    I appreciate your kind words. :)
    Aquas was one of my first purchases years ago, just because of the beauty.
    I transferred over as a (hobby) Vue artist due to Vue losing their store and being very slow to render and I was trying Unity as a way to create a beautiful environment and be able to walk around inside it. Which I could not do in Vue. Aquas gave me beautiful water. :) It was quite a change going from still art to full moving 3d art and I am amazed at how far Unity has progressed.

    There have been times when Chris disappeared for a while and we all helped each other out, but Chris always came back and I do agree about his tutorials, they are top notch. Now he returned with 2020 and it is amazing, and a free upgrade! Not many people like to do that anymore. I haven't gotten it working all the way and know a lot more about the original version from tinkering with it for so long, and I'll learn more on 2020 by doing the same.

    Sometimes we can lose the fact that even though we are creating a game it is still art. And that is what Aquas has given us. I know deadlines come up and having the videos really helps!

    I am just glad that Aquas got updated so I know it will be around a good long while.

    David
     
    camta005 likes this.
  43. creat327

    creat327

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,183
    aquas 2020 has a ton of bugs, i had to remove it and stick with Lux until I see them fixed. Also the community ocean shader which was beautiful, it's not working properly any more. It seems like every water asset in the store keeps popping up, lasting a few months and then go dead. I have like 20 different water assets already.
     
    nerdsarewinning likes this.
  44. nerdsarewinning

    nerdsarewinning

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Another week passed without support... Why we paid 45$, for nothing??? Lux water is just 15$ and they are SUPPORTING. Aquas2020 is not working if you are using it with fog (LIKE ALL GAMES). The only demo is working but free water shaders are better from this. Support or deprecate it.
     
  45. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    376
    Did he answer your email? or PM?
     
  46. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    376
    Try this
    From his website tutorials
    Enabling Depth Buffer Support for AQUAS to render effects that rely on it, such as
    • Realtime Shadows
    • Screen Space Fog
    • VOlumetric Lighting


    From his Unity publishers page-
    top right
    Dogmatic
    http://dogmaticgames.wordpress.com
    chris.dogma@googlemail.com

    Hope you get a hold of him.
     
  47. Drumbledore

    Drumbledore

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Hello everybody,

    we would like to use AQUAS 2020 in our game. Everything looks great so far and works as desired. However, there is one little thing we are wondering about. Is it possible to use the water vertically? If we tilt the plane on which the water is on by 90 degrees, the waves will be distorted. Is there any workaround?

    Thanks for your time!

    Greetings!
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
unityunity