Search Unity

  1. Calling all beginners! Join the FPS Beginners Mods Challenge until December 13.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. It's Cyber Week at the Asset Store!
    Dismiss Notice

AQUAS Water/River Set - Water & Rivers for Mobile, VR, Web, Desktop

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by dogmachris, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. Nitrox32

    Nitrox32

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    94
    This may be a dumb question, but has anyone had any problems with the new High Definition Rendering Pipeline?
     
  2. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    It was the layer thing.. What about underwater effects with unity 2018.2 and pps v2?
     
  3. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    When I dive everything goes WHITE underwater???
     
  4. AndreasO

    AndreasO

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Posts:
    90
    Could we please get an update where this bug of the ever changing caustics materials is fixed?
     
  5. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    Please fix this : PPS Stack issues where it throws error when importing, pain in the ass to allways comment out script.

    The underwater effect is weird, its very bright and white, dosent look good at all as it should..

    Caustics is weird, near the camera its like the caustics is shown on the terrain and flickers..

    Unity 2018.2
     
  6. ianis100

    ianis100

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Posts:
    8

    Hello I just bought Aquas Water and River
    the installation of the water was well done in the field however
    I have a problem with under water. When I'm in plays mode
    the underwater effects is under water but also above the water.
    Can you advise me the direction for the solution
    Thank you
     
  7. FargleBargle

    FargleBargle

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Posts:
    669
    As I said, Aquas underwater effects are designed to work with "normal" water, where the surface is a plane, not floating spheres. To use underwater effects and caustics with the sphere in my example, you'd probably need to roll your own trigger mechanism outside of Aquas. I usually create lens effect profiles for above and below the water, which normally are selected by Aquas when it detects transitions from one state to the other - but there's nothing stopping you from putting a spherical collider on the sphere, and using it to trigger the transitions instead. Similarly, you can use your own trigger script to turn the Aquas caustics projectors on and off depending on whether you're inside or outside the sphere. Since this is a special case, you can't expect Aquas to fully cover it out of the box, but it's definitely doable. :)

    The solution is that your camera is usually either above or below the water, not both. When it's below, the water surface reflections usually prevent you from seeing what's happening above the water too clearly, so you can generally ignore any effect spillover. That's why Aquas provides a water surface trigger, to turn the underwater effects on only when the camera goes underwater. If your application requires both the above and below water views to be visible at the same time, you might need to use two cameras, or a volume based underwater effect instead.

    Sometimes you need to get creative. For my floating house (1), I needed to create a custom water plane, with a cutout where the house would be (2). I then used a house shaped trigger collider (3) to turn on a "fake" underwater effect (4) when I was in the house, letting me see the fake effect through the underwater windows, without the lower floor of the house being flooded as well (5). It's all smoke and mirrors. ;)

    Floathome1.jpg Floathome2.jpg Floathome3.jpg Floathome4.jpg Floathome5.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
    dogmachris likes this.
  8. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080

    My underwater camera effects look weird, all bright and white?! Im using latest Unity 2018 and latest Aqua... Everything is set up right with Gaia.
     
  9. jh2

    jh2

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    FYI: I went through the same issues as everyone else, and this was the last to that helped solve my problem.
     
    dogmachris likes this.
  10. tianmowuming

    tianmowuming

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Non-convex MeshCollider with non-kinematic Rigidbody is no longer supported in Unity 5.
    If you want to use a non-convex mesh either make the Rigidbody kinematic or remove the Rigidbody component. Scene hierarchy path "RigidBodyFPSController/MainCamera/UnderWaterCameraEffects/WaterLens", Mesh asset path "Library/unity default resources" Mesh name "Plane"
     
  11. DougRichardson

    DougRichardson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    I wanted to report a bug that occurs with AQUAS and the PostProcessing package provided by the new Unity package manager.

    1. Create a new Unity project. I'm using Unity 2018.2.3f1.
    2. Import AQUAS 1.5.3. Do not include the top level Assets/PostProcessing part of the package as we will be using the Unity Package Manager provided package instead.
    3. Windows > Package Manager. Select the All tab and install Post Processing 2.0.11.

    At this point, Unity gets stuck in an infinite compilation loop. The spinning in the bottom right hand corner of the window never stops, and if you watch Editor.log, you see that it keeps rebuilding due to what it thinks is a project change.

    The problem seems to be caused by this section of AQUAS_AddDefine.cs:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (symbols.Contains("UNITY_POST_PROCESSING_STACK_V2") && results.Length == 0)
    2. {
    3.     symbols = PlayerSettings.GetScriptingDefineSymbolsForGroup(EditorUserBuildSettings.selectedBuildTargetGroup);
    4.  
    5.     symbols = symbols.Replace("UNITY_POST_PROCESSING_STACK_V2;", "");
    6.     symbols = symbols.Replace("UNITY_POST_PROCESSING_STACK_V2", "");
    7.     PlayerSettings.SetScriptingDefineSymbolsForGroup(EditorUserBuildSettings.selectedBuildTargetGroup, symbols);
    8. }
    I think the PostProcessing package and AQUAS are fighting over this definition in each of their InitializeOnLoad methods.

    I originally reported this problem on the Unity Package Manger forum, and @ok_compute_unity helped me figure out what was the root cause.
     
    JasonCG and dogmachris like this.
  12. DougRichardson

    DougRichardson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    I ended up changing AQUAS_AddDefine.cs so that it is no longer in the business of setting Post Processing definitions up. It now only takes care of itself.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEditor;
    2.  
    3. namespace AQUAS
    4. {
    5.     [InitializeOnLoad]
    6.     public class AQUAS_AddDefine : Editor {
    7.      
    8.         static AQUAS_AddDefine()
    9.         {
    10.             var symbols = PlayerSettings.GetScriptingDefineSymbolsForGroup(EditorUserBuildSettings.selectedBuildTargetGroup);
    11.  
    12.             if (!symbols.Contains("AQUAS_PRESENT"))
    13.             {
    14.                 symbols += ";AQUAS_PRESENT";
    15.                 PlayerSettings.SetScriptingDefineSymbolsForGroup(EditorUserBuildSettings.selectedBuildTargetGroup, symbols);
    16.             }
    17.         }
    18.     }
    19. }
    20.  
    I made a corresponding change to AQUAS_RemoveDefine.cs so it also no longer is in the business of managing PostProcessing definitions.
     
  13. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080

    Is your underwater effects weird too?
     
  14. DougRichardson

    DougRichardson

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    74
    I'm not using underwater effects.
     
  15. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    ok
     
  16. anunnaki2016

    anunnaki2016

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    90
    problem for game have player spawn is bad, what is api for add aquas in list AQUAS_LensEffects auto in script?
     
  17. filod

    filod

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Posts:
    60
    bug report:
    1. glitch underwater, only happens when using free aspect in game window, unity 2018.2.4
    upload_2018-8-21_19-19-49.png

    2. Maximum call stack size or High CPU usage when use post process stack v2 (in editor mode)
    BTW, when i remove the editor folder or remove PPS V2, everything gose fine, i assume maybe a conflict between them
     
  18. ivabibliocad

    ivabibliocad

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Posts:
    71
    Does anyone knows why aquas water becomes black?
    I have the latest version under unity 2018.2
     
  19. ivabibliocad

    ivabibliocad

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Posts:
    71
    It was a lighting problem. Easy Fix!
     
    dogmachris likes this.
  20. puargs

    puargs

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Latest version of unity 2018.2.5f1 - adding post processing stack v2.11 causes infinite compile loop. Very frustrating because it's so hard to get in there and remove the asset while it's compiling... infinitely.

    I have removed both post processing and Aquas from my project at the moment just working with a flat plane for water instead because I need resolution. Is there a recommended method to add the latest post processing stack? Before or after adding aquas to the solution? Is manually editing any compiler directives necessary?
     
  21. filod

    filod

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Posts:
    60
    author has reply this in https://forum.unity.com/threads/upd...le-vr-web-desktop.378519/page-34#post-3484848

    but i think he really should address this issue in asset homepage/main post
     
    puargs likes this.
  22. SamRock

    SamRock

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Posts:
    134
    @dogdogmachris

    I am interested in your asset, just want to know how the water effect will look in a 2.5D game. My game needs my character to be partially submerged in water. During this the below portion (submerged) needs to have underwater effects applied (like fog, caustic etc) Does your game support this?
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
  23. puargs

    puargs

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    That post did fix the problem - thank you! Quick steps for those with the same problem:

    1) Remove post-processing from the project altogether.
    2) Remove Aquas from the project (I had made some code changes to try to fix the problem, just doing a hard reset this way helped)
    3) Add Aquas
    4) Delete the Editor/AQUAS_AddDefine.cs script
    5) Go to project settings, check environment variables and make sure UNITY_POST_PROCESSING_STACK_V2 is present in the semicolon-delimited list (if V1 is present as well, remove it so only V2 is present)
    6) Add Post-Processing newest version back to the project.
    7) optional - (If you are new to Post-Processing v2 and you have a large terrain, your water may appear white. If this happens, you may need to click on your aquas water plane and find the attached shader, expand the options, and uncheck the "custom fog" option).

    Mostly just adding this reply for myself in case I run into it again.
     
    gyl09 and mattis89 like this.
  24. swredcam

    swredcam

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    106
    Hopefully this is an issue someone else has seen and solved. My water looks great in Scene view when running, but Game view looks terrible with no waves or reflections. I applied AQUAS using the 2SidedTriple material on a plane. I actually seemed to work well until I switched to using a lightbox, at that point the Game view broke. Any ideas?
     
  25. swredcam

    swredcam

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    106
    Please ignore my last silly post. I had scene lighting toggled on in scene view but my actual lighting in the scene was partly disabled. Hence the very dark water. For anyone making this same error, the "Scene View Lighting" switch is in the scene window and is a sun-like icon. It should be off/dark if you want a similar look in the scene vs the game views.
     
  26. swredcam

    swredcam

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    106
    I'm following the tiled plane demo video and am finding that there is a visible seam from a distance. Actually in the demo video, right about where the narrator mentions the word "seamless", there is also a visible seam. It goes away if you get closer to the water, but my view is distant most of the time. I have whole-number tiling values so that is not the issue. I tried messing with the medium and long-distance tiling settings but they did not seem to make a difference. Is it possible to get a seamless look from a distance?

    To be clear, it's not tiling that is the problem -- the tiling is not obvious from my distance. It's the seam itself.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2018
  27. zgegalail

    zgegalail

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi everybody,
    Is there guidelines to follow when using Aquas on VR ? It seems that Aquas still doesn't work with Single Pass Rendering, that's a bit sad, but even in Multi-Pass Rendering, reflections are quite awful on the water, there's a bit of flickering in the distance and overall, it looks offset. Any advice ?
     
    rocky1138 likes this.
  28. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    When did it become black? It goes black for me when its night with enviro..
     
  29. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    Hello! @dogmachris , what is this really?

    Screen position out of view frustum (screen pos 256.000000, 0.000000, 8324761.500000) (Camera rect 0 0 256 256)
    UnityEngine.Camera:Render()
    AQUAS_Reflection:OnWillRenderObject() (at Assets/AQUAS/Scripts/AQUAS_Reflection.cs:100)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  30. swredcam

    swredcam

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    106
    Below is a close-up image of what I am seeing -- a seam between two tiles.
     
  31. ivabibliocad

    ivabibliocad

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Posts:
    71
    It became black because I was using baked ambient lighting, There was no realtime lightsource to take information for the aquas plane.
     
  32. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,080
    hmm, Im using realtime still black
     
  33. rocky1138

    rocky1138

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    27
    Where is this asset with respect to supporting single pass rendering?
     
  34. smlee_looxidlabs

    smlee_looxidlabs

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Reflection doesn't works with SteamVR even multi pass rendering.

    Can you teach me about 2-camera-setup?
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2018
    rocky1138 likes this.
  35. Salja

    Salja

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Posts:
    322
    hmm aquas look like dead no support sice a long time sad
     
  36. unfungmz

    unfungmz

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Posts:
    160
    Any way to speed up Aquas loading? I have it running on the XB1 and I'm getting 60 fps from it, but it takes about 6 seconds to load when my scene loads. Unfortunately, anything longer than 1 second and I will fail certification - and I'd HATE to lose Aquas in my game. It really looks amazing.
     
  37. blackant

    blackant

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Posts:
    444
    Hello, i have just one question about AQUA,

    does it support multiplayer cameras ?
     
  38. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    203
    Hi folks new to the thread; be cautious about this asset as developer has been absent for several months now and my sense is that it will soon be deprecated.
     
  39. AndreasO

    AndreasO

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Posts:
    90
    I have the very same feeling about this asset ... :-(
     
  40. blacksun666

    blacksun666

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Posts:
    166
    Well he is still using the forums, maybe not posting. Last update of the product was 15 Jun 2018. He did say he is working on version 2 which has a separate thread, although he hasnt posted in there for a while either. https://forum.unity.com/threads/wip-aquas-2-0.498452/
     
  41. swredcam

    swredcam

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Posts:
    106
    I'm giving it one more day and then will write a bad review on Unity.
     
  42. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    823
    It seems a lot of the asset devs go in hiding mode when they are working on an update.
     
    rocky1138 likes this.
  43. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    203
    I'm still hopeful for Aquas 2.0, and I'd certainly pay just to check it out!

    However, going *this* silent should be expected to have consequences - it's a paid product, not open source. Just my opinion.
     
  44. GamePyro

    GamePyro

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2018
    Posts:
    154
    Hello,

    Are the Boats in the Video also included with script to drive them ?

    or where can get them with script etc ?



    Also a friend has aquas and tested for me at R.A.M River Auto Material.
    But there the underwater camera not work he and i tried with him at the same settings etc like used at demo scene but not work underwater camera not gets activated at R.A.M

    You have a solution for it ?



    regards
     
  45. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    823
    He has been afk for sometime now.
     
  46. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,676
    I checked and it says he was last seen Sept 11 on the forums so he's been around. He's just not answering anything as of yet. I sent him an e-mail today to hopefully get him to come back, but no response.
     
  47. Salja

    Salja

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    Posts:
    322

    but he reply the reviews, i point him to check out the forum
    is all time the same like ICE Creature Controll no more Support, Gaia waiting sice 1 year of update 2.0 same with Aquas all time just lie about updates.

    Screenshot_3.png
     
  48. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    The boats in the video are not included, neither is any script to drive them - they just move along a spline curve.

    AQUAS's underwater mode has been designed to work with AQUAS, not with RAM. RAM has a completely different Approach to the water surface.
     
  49. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    @Salja @magique @SickaGamer @swredcam @blacksun666 @AndreasO @mmaclaurin
    You are of course all right, I have been neglecting this forum for quite a while now. I have given support via e-mail, some stuff however has just been growing over my head and I can only apologize for that.
    However, I have not abandonned the asset and am still there doing development. I feel like I should thank a lot of guys here in the forum for doing some of the work that I would have had to do instead.

    I don't want to spread out too much personal "why"-stuff, please let me just apologize and reassure you, that AQUAS is not abandonned.
     
  50. dogmachris

    dogmachris

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,202
    What do you see when you set up VR with multi pass rendering? Do you see displaced reflections or is it something else?