Search Unity

AppName Localization for macOS

Discussion in 'macOS' started by AlexNanomonx, Aug 26, 2020.

1. AlexNanomonx

AlexNanomonx

So I have some knowledge to share about localizing the App Name that I'd like to share on this forum for posterity, as I found very little previous things to help me with this problem either on this website or any other, and it's been a deeply frustrating few days. But I'd like to start with a questions, does anyone have any clue how to localize the AppName in the Applications folder? Is it only possible when installing through the app store?

Ok, how to localize the AppName for macOS? This is assuming you're just going ahead and generating the .app file, if you first generate an Xcode project I'll leave that up to you.

Fundamentally it's pretty similar to the better documented iOS, you need to generate InfoPlist.strings files in lang-code.lproj folders (eg. MyApp.app/Content/en-NZ.lproj/InfoPlist.strings). They should look like this:
    In addition to that you must update the Info.plist file. Here is a function that updates it correctly (for me at least)
    Code (CSharp):
    1. /// <summary>
    2. ///     Export localized languages to the info.plist
    3. /// </summary>
    4. /// <param name="contentsFolder">The folder in which the info.plist file should be</param>
    5. /// <param name="langCodes">The language codes eg. en, en-NZ, fr, fr-CA</param>
    6. private static void UpdatePlist(string contentsFolder, List<string> langCodes)
    7. {
    8.     string plistPath = contentsFolder + "/Info.plist";
    9.     PlistDocument plist = new PlistDocument();
    10.     plist.ReadFromString(File.ReadAllText(plistPath));
    12.     PlistElementDict rootDict = plist.root;
    14.     PlistElementArray langArray = rootDict.CreateArray("CFBundleLocalizations");
    15.     foreach (string code in langCodes)
    16.         langArray.AddString(code);
    18.     rootDict.SetString("CFBundleDevelopmentRegion", langCodes[0]);