Search Unity

Applying prefab changes changes RectTranform properties

Discussion in 'Unity UI (uGUI) & TextMesh Pro' started by GilCat, Oct 31, 2017.

  1. enchiridion

    enchiridion

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    Patch 2017.2.1p4
    Released: 12 February 2018

    So they fixed it in 2017.2 but not in 2017.3? This is getting ridiculous!
     
  2. Erikoinen

    Erikoinen

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    59
    Yep, still no update available.
     
  3. Erikoinen

    Erikoinen

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    59
    @karl_jones please do update again when you have something.
     
  4. tarmo-jussila

    tarmo-jussila

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Checking daily for updates on this. This is really killing productivity here.
     
  5. Erikoinen

    Erikoinen

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    59
    My problem is that all transforms screw up if I Apply a prefab with disabled GameObjects. So my workaround is to enable everything, Apply, then disable everything again that I need, and have these local disablings in each scene that the prefab is used in. And as my routine is to Apply all the time, I obviously keep messing things up constantly.

    So pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeease. 2017.3.1p1. Now!
     
    floatpt, musickgm and Wahooney like this.
  6. ekaralar

    ekaralar

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    This is unacceptable, for a bug as severe as this, we still are not getting a net answer on when the patch will be released.

    @UnityTechnology: Can you please give a solid ETA on when this fix will be released for 2017.3?
     
    Novack and enchiridion like this.
  7. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
    Sorry, the date has now slipped to Wed-Fri. We have one important fix that still reproduces and needs to be verified.
     
  8. frgaj

    frgaj

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    2017.3.1p1 is out now, is that fix working for people?
     
  9. musickgm

    musickgm

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Just downloaded it and starting working with it. So far so good. However, buckle up. Be ready to fix EVERYTHING that you tinkered with while the bug was active. I have a long road of fixing canvas object prefabs ahead of me...
    Glad it's finally out though.
     
  10. Erikoinen

    Erikoinen

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    59
    Downloaded and everything works as they should. Thanks! :rolleyes:
     
    Stephan_B likes this.
  11. P4blo

    P4blo

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    I'm having problems downloading the Mac version of the patch. I'm using the Unity Editor Download Assistant and the downloading is stopped when trying to very the downloaded data in the step 3 of 7 (Standard assets). See screenshot attached.

    Any glue?

    https://imgur.com/a/nhhce

     
  12. Wahooney

    Wahooney

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    272
    Okay, that was quite a wait, but so far so good.

    Thanks.
     
  13. crdgre

    crdgre

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    karl_jones likes this.
  14. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
    Are you still having problems?
     
  15. P4blo

    P4blo

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    18
  16. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
    Thanks I'll check with the team.
     
  17. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    416
    2018.1.0b7 still having this issue.
     
  18. P4blo

    P4blo

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    Thanks Karl, now the problem is gone.
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  19. musickgm

    musickgm

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    I know this is a shot in the dark, and probably not applicable...
    but is there any reason why this patch would cause failed builds for Android? Or is anyone else having this issue?

    I was building fine before I updated, and now I can't get a build. I've been banging my head on my desk because of this for days to no avail. Just thought I'd ask...
     
  20. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
    No. What errors do you get?
     
  21. musickgm

    musickgm

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    15
  22. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
  23. musickgm

    musickgm

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    I was actually just able to get a successful build using the gradle build system. However, this seems more like a hack/band-aid since this won't work in UCB (which is super helpful when building to multiple platforms among other reasons).
    Edit: I just realized that gradle is now supported in UCB. I was looking at an old thread. Trying that now.
    The following are the errors that I get without gradle (thanks for taking a look - I know this is most likely off topic):

    UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow+BuildMethodException: 3 errors
    at UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow+DefaultBuildMethods.BuildPlayer (BuildPlayerOptions options) [0x0020e] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\BuildPlayerWindowBuildMethods.cs:181
    at UnityEditor.BuildPlayerWindow.CallBuildMethods (Boolean askForBuildLocation, BuildOptions defaultBuildOptions) [0x00065] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\BuildPlayerWindowBuildMethods.cs:88
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)

    And...

    Win32Exception: ApplicationName='C:\Users\music\AppData\Local\Android\sdk\build-tools\26.0.0\apksigner.bat', CommandLine='sign --ks "C:/Users/music/Google Drive/Osmosis Games/Phys 2/phys2.keystore" --ks-pass stdin --ks-key-alias "phys2" --key-pass stdin "C:\Users\music\Google Drive\Osmosis Games\Phys 2\Temp/StagingArea/Package.apk"', CurrentDirectory='Temp/StagingArea'

    System.Diagnostics.Process.Start_noshell (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo startInfo, System.Diagnostics.Process process)

    System.Diagnostics.Process.Start_common (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo startInfo, System.Diagnostics.Process process)

    System.Diagnostics.Process.Start ()

    (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.Diagnostics.Process:Start ()

    UnityEditor.Utils.Program.Start (System.EventHandler exitCallback) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/Utils/Program.cs:44)

    UnityEditor.Utils.Program.Start () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/Utils/Program.cs:28)

    UnityEditor.Android.Command.RunWithStdin (System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, UnityEditor.Android.WaitingForProcessToExit waitingForProcessToExit, System.String errorMsg, System.String[] input)

    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.Tasks.TasksCommon.Exec (System.String command, System.String args, System.String workingdir, System.String errorMsg, System.String[] stdin)

    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.Tasks.BuildAPK.SignPackage (UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessorContext context)

    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.Tasks.BuildAPK.Execute (UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessorContext context)

    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessRunner.RunAllTasks (UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessor.PostProcessorContext context)

    UnityEditor.Android.PostProcessAndroidPlayer.PostProcess (BuildTarget target, System.String stagingAreaData, System.String stagingArea, System.String playerPackage, System.String installPath, System.String companyName, System.String productName, BuildOptions options, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry, UnityEditor.BuildReporting.BuildReport report)

    UnityEditor.Android.AndroidBuildPostprocessor.PostProcess (BuildPostProcessArgs args)

    UnityEditor.PostprocessBuildPlayer.Postprocess (BuildTargetGroup targetGroup, BuildTarget target, System.String installPath, System.String companyName, System.String productName, Int32 width, Int32 height, BuildOptions options, UnityEditor.RuntimeClassRegistry usedClassRegistry, UnityEditor.BuildReporting.BuildReport report) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/BuildPipeline/PostprocessBuildPlayer.cs:272)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  24. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
    Looks like it's failing at the signing step. Try updating the android APK, check the sign in details are correct in the editor. If all else fails build unsigned and sign it through command line.
     
  25. musickgm

    musickgm

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Cool.
    Yeah, I already updated APK among many other things. The gradle build system seems to be working - as long as there aren't any unforeseen reasons not to use this method!
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  26. Krey

    Krey

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    I'm still having this issue in 2018.1.0b9... Any tips? Is there something specific I am supposed to do with the affected items after updating?

    Edit: For clarity, creating a new prefab from editing a previous prefab, or overwriting a current prefab both cause between some and many of the individual elements to have their positions chaotically changed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
  27. Twoorb-Studios

    Twoorb-Studios

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    Still having this issue in 2017.3.1f1, this is causing a great deal of frustration and forcing me to work without prefabs. Is there any version in which there is a working fix?
     
  28. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    3,464
    Wrong version. You need 2017.3.1p1 or above
     
  29. Martian-Games

    Martian-Games

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    I can confirm I'm having good luck with 2017.3.1p1 and also 2018.1.0b10
     
    karl_jones likes this.
  30. vexe

    vexe

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    635
    Just came across this bug too. Updated to 2017.3.1p1, my scrollbar is still dancing...
     

    Attached Files: