Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Application.Shutdown.CleanupMono never finishes.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by WinterboltGames, May 30, 2021.

  1. WinterboltGames

    WinterboltGames

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Happens randomly with no prerequisites even in TOTALLY empty projects.

    Unity_xCG6OXyASB.png
     
    amateurd likes this.
  2. tirarex

    tirarex

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Same.
     
    amateurd likes this.
  3. a_loupas

    a_loupas

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2021
    Posts:
    16
    Still happens on unity 2021.2
     
  4. amateurd

    amateurd

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Posts:
    61
    Yes, still happening all the time for me.

    The only way to close Unity in 2021 is to kill the process with task manager.

    Every Single Day.

    Wow.
     
    fk95034 likes this.
  5. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,381
    Yup same here, seems bad.
     
    amateurd likes this.
  6. Hypertectonic

    Hypertectonic

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    68
    Very frustrating issue...
     
    amateurd likes this.
  7. AliceWasNeverHere

    AliceWasNeverHere

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2021
    Posts:
    11
    There seem to be a lot of issues such as this in the Unity forum with no "apparent" developer attention.

    Have any of you submitted a bug report? What's its issue ID? It helps far more to share your issue tracker ID here rather than just pointing out your frustration.

    Multiple people complaining quite often proves to be time-wasting noise, but those same people voting on an issue with code attached to help reproduce a bug is far more likely to get favorable results.

    Also, try not to assume there are no prerequisites, as something causes the issue; code doesn't lie.

    Check the help menu in the editor to submit a bug report; it's easy. Duplicate issues are even okay, as the dev team is capable of referencing them together.

    If your codebase is private, try to reproduce the issue in a new project (or a stripped-down copy) to share with the devs in your report.

    If you have no idea what causes the issue, don't sweat it; just do your best to describe the situation and result then submit that bug report so others can vote on it.
     
    MiguelCoK likes this.
  8. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,381
    Reported at (Case 1388272), it even happens with the brand new 2021.2.6f1
     
  9. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,381
    I usually do take the time to report issues when I am not rammed with project work but when its something easy to spot like the editor borking after a build or something that happens every time the editor is used, I often find out someone else already reported it days ago.
     
    amateurd likes this.
  10. WinterboltGames

    WinterboltGames

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Unnecessary reply redacted
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2021
  11. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,381
    Let's try not to get too feisty here peeps, we're all trying to help improve the engine and to help each other succeed, thanks @AliceWasNeverHere for reminding me to report a bug of it. Let's hope it gets fixed soon!
     
  12. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,381
    I heard back from support:

    Thanks for getting in touch, we actually know about this issue but unfortunately, we cannot provide an Issue Tracker link, as this bug is only tracked internally.

    Workaround:
    - Open Windows Task Manager.
    - Find the Unity Editor process
    - Expand it to show child processes
    - Click the 'Node.js Server-side JavaScript' (choose the one that's for the build\WebGLSupport\BuildTools\Emscripten-win-x64\node\node.exe (you can right-click and select Open File Location to see which one this is).
    - Right-click and choose 'End task'
    This then closes the Unity Editor.
     
  13. amateurd

    amateurd

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Posts:
    61
    That's really helpful. Thank you.
     
  14. eric-xiyu-xue

    eric-xiyu-xue

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    This doesn't work for me.
     
  15. ROBYER1

    ROBYER1

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,381
    Try a newer engine version I believe it was fixed
     
    tabearunzheimer likes this.
  16. GainfulSage

    GainfulSage

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Posts:
    94
    Late to the party, but I'm also getting the same error related to the GitHub for Unity plugin. Killing the Git-related tasks seems to do the job.

    tl;dr uninstalling the GitHub for Unity fixed.
     
  17. aimatme

    aimatme

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    13
  18. Hypertectonic

    Hypertectonic

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    68
    Yes this did the trick for me. Unfortunate since I used that a lot. Shame Unity just up and abandoned it.
     
  19. aimatme

    aimatme

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Unity3d 2021.2.12, the problem still exits
     
  20. Wolfos

    Wolfos

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Posts:
    894
    Still seeing this issue in 2021.3 LTS. It's been present since I updated this project to 21.2. Doesn't happen in every project though.

    It's not WebGL, and I don't use the Github plugin.

    For now I've set my Task Manager to default to the "Details" tab, and sort by memory which puts Unity on top so I can kill the process easily.
     
  21. drcrck

    drcrck

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    328
    Or you can Win+R and
    Code (csharp):
    1. taskkill /f /im Unity.exe
    After used once, it will stay in the win+r history so you won't need to type or paste it every time

    PS Back in the Unity 5 time, when it was freezing every hour, I had this command bound to Pause/Break via AutoHotkey :D
     
    WinterboltGames and Wolfos like this.
  22. fk95034

    fk95034

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    thanks for the help!
     
  23. Slock20969

    Slock20969

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Posts:
    13
    Google brought me here, still happening with Unity 2021.3.3f1 LTS edition. :/
     
  24. TieSKey

    TieSKey

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    187
    Google brought me here, still happening with Unity 2021.3.8f1 LTS edition. :/
    (didn't happen on same project with 2021.3.4f1 guess I'll downgrade)
     
  25. Aldaaay

    Aldaaay

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    upload_2022-9-10_13-8-3.png
    Dammit....
    I just left the PC on all night
     
    solkyoshiro likes this.
  26. Ignacii

    Ignacii

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    55
    lmao. f

    Problem still there with 2021.3.8f1 W11
     
    solkyoshiro likes this.
  27. solkyoshiro

    solkyoshiro

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2021
    Posts:
    26
    The problem is still here in 2021.3.12f1, Windows 11.
     
  28. Blade_Master_2020

    Blade_Master_2020

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Posts:
    33
    The problem is still here in 2022.1.20f1c1, Windows 10.