Search Unity

Application reload

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Zaskar7777, Oct 17, 2020.

1. Zaskar7777

Zaskar7777

I have been using Unity since 2014. I never encountered this issue.

While working, making code changes, saving and coming back to Unity more often I get application.reload message box which is fine as long as it goes away, it remains forever till I end task Unity in Windows using the task manager.

The earlier experience was so much better.

Moreover, many other message boxes keep coming like refreshing scenes etc sometimes even when the play mode is on and for a few seconds they appear and go away.

Application.reload causes a major issue while debugging.

How to reproduce:

1. Star debug mode.
    2. Start going through the lines step by step
    3. For some reason you want to go back to Unity to check visual states of any game objects you are stuck application. reload appears and you have to stop the debugger. Hence I can no longer debug now.

The application.reload sometimes appear while hitting play mode and this is more dangerous it never goes away till I end task as I said earlier.

I am clueless. Is this a bug or some setting which I need to take care of?

I have already disabled Auto-refresh in preferences settings.

Please help.

aidangig56 likes this.
  2. MartinTilo

MartinTilo

Unity Technologies

I'm not entirely sure I am following your reproduction description entirely. Does this mean that you have an IDE (e.g. Visual Studio or Rider) attached to the Editor and the code execution paused for debugging (stepping through the code line by line) when you tab back into Unity, and that's when the Editor is frozen?

If that is the case, than that's how it's always been (nothing new with the Progress bar popup) and I'm not sure how it should behave any different. You'd need to press "continue" or stop debugging (red rectangular button in the IDE) to allow the code execution to resume.

3. MartinTilo

MartinTilo