Search Unity

Bug App "quit unexpectedly" - something to worry about?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by andreas_mavromm, Mar 9, 2023.

1. andreas_mavromm

andreas_mavromm

Hello, I am trying to build a very simple first-person exploration game ... the development has been going very smoothly so far. The project is *very* simple and small, and mainly consists of a player controller who walks into a trigger collider to load the next scene. I am using Unity Editor 2021.3.20f1 btw.

I built the game to test it out, which runs completely smoothly; I am able to walk around, load into the next level, and save into the player prefs system the name of the current scene. However, after quitting the app, I am usually treated to a scary "app has closed unexpectedly" message. I have attached a screenshot to this post with the error message.

I am a novice coder/game developer, so this Problem Report from Apple is confusing. Should I be worried if this error message is occurring only when I close the game? Once again, I am able to run the game with no issues - however, I am getting this message nearly every time I close out of the game, which is making me hesitant to continue development until I can figure it out. Is there an easier way to be able to decipher messages like the one in the screenshot so I can figure out the problem myself?

Any help/feedback would be awesome, thank you.

Attached Files:

2. karsten-heim

karsten-heim

Is this after you quit the unity application, or after you stop running your game in the editor?

3. andreas_mavromm

andreas_mavromm

Karsten,

Thank you for getting back to me. This happens after I quit the Unity application - there are no errors in the Editor, and the game itself runs smoothly and without any problems once it has been built, so there are no crashes that occur within the game.