Search Unity

Question App got rejection on Xiaomi, Oppo platform due to Unity collect user information

Discussion in 'Unity Analytics' started by GiverDP, Jan 10, 2022.

  1. GiverDP

    GiverDP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    Hi Dear Unity,

    Our app got rejection on Xiaomi, Oppo platform. Because when the platforms review our app they found out that our app is tracking user information when the app starts and the log they shown is pointed to Unity.

    The review report they send to us shows Unity is collecting Android ID, device information, etc.

    And we tried one way to manually disable the Unity Connect Settings by modifying the UnityConnectSettings.asset file like below.

    upload_2022-1-10_16-47-21.png

    If we disable UnityConnectSettings and CrashReportingSettings highlighted above, the app will pass the review of Xiaomi, Oppo platform.

    So we are wondering if there is anyway we can disable and enable this in runtime? If this is disabled what kind of features will be affected from Unity?

    Best wishes!
     
  2. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
    Use Charles Proxy to determine exactly what your app is sending, and you can use this information in your appeal https://support.unity.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002917683-Using-Charles-Proxy-with-Unity . The only data we collect would show up in the Charles capture.
     
  3. GiverDP

    GiverDP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    I tried to use Charles, but I only saw those urls below.

    upload_2022-1-11_9-54-33.png

    And this didn't correspond to the Xiaomi, Oppo platform check. Because from their report there is the some splash.unity.cn host stuff.

    upload_2022-1-11_9-56-8.png

    Also they mention Unity is collecting AndroidID when App start, any idea about those things?
     
  4. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
    The capture is still encrypted (the red X's). That's exactly the data we need, it will tell in the request payload which service is making the call and what data is in the response. If this was captured on Android, you need to install the charlesproxy.unitypackage as mentioned in the article.
     
  5. GiverDP

    GiverDP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    I got it working and below shows the data it's collecting.

    upload_2022-1-11_15-36-22.png


    upload_2022-1-11_15-36-39.png

    Here is full text data shows above.

    {"common":{"appid":"local.e0e09c6d18c4042349a946231f31e2dd","userid":"d3794a9ec3dcbdc499120f690868830c","sessionid":3286539128195096274,"platform":"AndroidPlayer","platformid":11,"sdk_ver":"u2019.4.34f1c1","sdk_rev":"74e9a986d8c7","session_count":6,"localprojectid":"e0e09c6d18c4042349a946231f31e2dd","build_guid":"d2720cc3fce8d45fa8a968ca2426fcde","deviceid":"f9866992d4ca7ecede3818f8be6288a8","identity_token":"d3794a9ec3dcbdc499120f690868830c"}}
    {"type":"analytics.appPause.v1","msg":{"ts":1641886328927,"t_since_start":228666483}}
    {"type":"analytics.appRunning.v1","msg":{"duration":227,"local_time_offset":-28800000,"ts":1641886328927,"t_since_start":228666543}}

    So it do collect device information, like deviceid.
     
  6. SamOYUnity3D

    SamOYUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Posts:
    626
    This data is collected from the Unity Analytics service, you can rebuild the project after disabling the Unity Analytics service in the editor.
    upload_2022-1-11_17-27-31.png
     
  7. GiverDP

    GiverDP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    Actually the build I made already disabled analytics, but this is still collecting data.

    upload_2022-1-13_10-30-12.png
     
  8. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
    Please send your Charles .chls capture file to me in a private message, I'll take a look
     
  9. GiverDP

    GiverDP

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    34
    I started a conversation with you and send the .chls file there. If you could check it as soon as possible that would be really helpful, because currently this issue is a blocker for us. Really appreciate!
     
  10. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
    @GiverDP Yes, Analytics is still showing as enabled and sending events. Was this capture created when running in the Editor or from a new build? If you've disabled Analytics in the Editor, you need to create a new build. Also, try removing all the Analytics packages from Package Manager, make sure to create a full project backup first. Then create a new build. What platform are you building to? Compare to a new/empty project with no services enabled.