Search Unity

Feedback Anyone with experience in Esri CityEngine? My thoughts after using it for some time ;)

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by OrlovskyConsultingGbR, Aug 2, 2020.

?

Did you already touched city engine?

1. Yes

2. No

3. I plan to do this

4. No , because lincense fee is way to expensive!

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. OrlovskyConsultingGbR

OrlovskyConsultingGbR

Hi all!

It would be interesting to know if anyone tried to use esri city engine assets in Unity3D commercial project.
    Here is full tutorial about this city engine, if anyone interested:

I am not in any way affiliated with the company behind this city engine, i am just a freelancer and indie developer who look for "shortcuts" and i did "played" with CityEngine last month around.

My impression as it is : esri company use a "awkward" UI from Eclipse IDE (in my case i compared the city engine version 2019 with Eclipse Equinox ver 3.6), most of the code in city engine editor which you can touch is in python, this actually pretty strange , because as i understand the application itself was written in java.

What i like about this particular tool, you can use real city GPS position with street's lines from actual google map position and then this tool generates and alow you to customize buildings, or even better you can create own city map with streets network and then
    City engine recognize the "places" where to put buildings on the terrain and voila you have created a city without spending too much time and if you need you can customize each of the buildings.

Here is a example from Unity3D with assets from City Engine:

1.png
    Real usage cases:
    Big companies like Pixar used this engine to generate whole city for movie Incredibles 2.
    This tool was used actually in the movie: Independence Day: Resurgence