Search Unity

Anyone make text-based games, or try to?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by AdventureCow, Nov 24, 2015.

1. AdventureCow

AdventureCow

I've been thinking a lot about text-based games and how to write them. (By text-based I mean games where the primary medium is text and not visuals - things like 80 Days, Sorcery, the Gamebook Adventures series, Choice of Games's games, Fallen London, etc.) Twine is a pretty popular tool in the indie scene, as well as things like Undum, Ren'py (text...ish), and ChoiceScript.

I've been searching through the Unity forums and found a couple of mentions of more sophisticated software that are typically used for non-text-based games, like articy:draft and ChatMapper as well.

Have any of you made, or tried to make games that are primarily text-based?
    What tools did you use? How did it turn out?
    Are there good tools to make this sort of game that are accessible to total beginners? If not, what do you think is missing?

OatmealPorridge and Gigiwoo like this.
  2. Kellyrayj

Kellyrayj

3. SteveJ

SteveJ

Joshua McGrath made a pretty cool little asset for building text adventure games in Unity. Might interest you.

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/5981

In general though, yeah text adventures are awesome, but not something that you would build in Unity if you were really taking it seriously. You're just adding a whole lot of overhead that you don't need.

AdventureCow and Kiwasi like this.
  4. Teila

Teila

That is really cool! I wish I had the time to make a text game! That tool looks saw awesome. Thanks!

5. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Yes, I made a good start on recreating a text adventure I wrote as a kid on the Apple II, but in Unity.

I didn't use any special tools; just a Canvas, some code to manage text input/output, and a more or less direct translation of the data structures I was using in the 80s.

But that Tidy Text Adventures asset looks pretty awesome — you should definitely try that!