Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone else having game crashes on startup on some systems?

Discussion in '2019.1 Beta' started by nongbenzgames, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    This is a tough one, because it doesn't happen on my system but just for 2 remote testers in Russia and Poland. While for me and others it works fine.

    No logs produced and nothing of value in System event log. Just immediate crash since the 2019.1 alphas. 2018.3.3 and before work fine in the same systems.

    Tried different graphics cards and settings to no avail. Just have the screenshot of the error below. Seems to be a UnityEngine issue but again I can't replicate on my system so hard to diagnose.
    avatar_.png
     
  2. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Some more info if it can be useful.

    info.png info2.png
     
  3. Peter77

    Peter77

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    3,130
    I guess it helps if you attach the crash dumps. If an Unity player crashes, it saves a "crash.dmp" and "error.log" file in this folder:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. C:\Users\%UserName%\AppData\LocalLow\<CompanyName>\<ProductName>\Crashes
    Where <CompanyName> and <ProductName> would be what you specified in the Player Settings.

    Please attach these files here.
     
    nongbenzgames likes this.
  4. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks Peter. I asked them to check the crashes subfolder but nothing and no log too... I'll roll back to 2018 for now, shame because 2019 fixes some issues but introduces this incompatibility with some systems.

    Thought it might've been some localization thing but I had them change regional settings to US and they're using 64 bit systems same as me but still no luck.
     
  5. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    5,929
    Charles_Beauchemin likes this.
  6. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
  7. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Call stack on crash.
    Untitled.png
     
  8. nickrapp

    nickrapp

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Posts:
    43
    We have a fix for this exact issue in the queue. Most common cause is when we try to open the logfile for writing but cannot, due to it being locked by another process, read only, etc. So until we have a fix, you may be able to workaround the issue by explicitly specifying a different log file on the command line, or ensuring nothing is locking that file.
     
    nongbenzgames likes this.
  9. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Ok yes, that narrowed the problem. I found why it was affecting international users... If the default log path (%LOCALAPPDATA%) has any international characters (spaces too I think), it will CTD... Using the command line to force the log path to somewhere safe (no Unicode characters I guess) works. I think Steam allows launching with parameters so I'll try that.

    Edit: Submitted bug report Case 1122909
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
  10. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    5,929
    I don't think it's related to Unicode characters. My %LOCALAPPDATA% has both spaces and unicode characters and I cannot reproduce this problem.
     
  11. nongbenzgames

    nongbenzgames

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    I shouldve said non-ascii characters. I haven't tested by changing my windows username but you can try by launching with something like..

    DefaultGame.exe -logfile "%CD%\FolderДд\output_log.txt"

    It crashes for me, confirmed by..

    https://issuetracker.unity3d.com/is...he-logfile-path-contains-non-ascii-characters