Search Unity

Anyone else have these problems when working from home?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by IamKevinRichardson, Dec 9, 2015.

1. IamKevinRichardson

IamKevinRichardson

Hey everyone! I am an indie game developer that has been working on my first game for awhile now. I am full time from home and I am running in to a couple of side effects I am hoping other can help me deal with.

The first one is discouragement. I love making games and art and I love programming. I am very excited about making my own game but a lot of times I get overwhelmed and hide like an ostrich. It becomes a perpetuating cycle that is hard to overcome sometimes.

The second one is soul crushing loneliness! Working from home is very lonely. Does anybody have any experience overcoming this? I have no friends, lol.

2. N1warhead

N1warhead

I experience both, unfortunately for me - I can only work usually on short term projects otherwise I get burnt out.
    Unless however - my game/tools or whatever else get a lot of hype then it sticks to me.

The biggest factor for me is getting my stuff known, if it's not known and you for example - make a thread about it somewhere and people just look and don't say anything - that's one of the biggest downers I face period.

to me - people not talking on my thread = not interested and it must be crap.

But the second one - I actually prefer the loneliness - people can't be trusted, it's sad but it's a cold hard fact that the majority of real life friends / family will never understand why we are the way we are in game development and they start trashing your dreams down the drain because of one simple fact - they don't understand.