Search Unity

Anybody want to help the "Noob" to Game Design ?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by TinyIncognegroT, Jun 21, 2018.

1. TinyIncognegroT

TinyIncognegroT

Sup, I'm new to the forum and I'm new to Game Design. I have a technical question... I'm starting online classes @ Lindenwood University for my Bachelor's in Game Design. I've always played and beaten many and had my own ideas for video games, which is why I chose this major. Only thing is, I've never actually designed a video game or owned equipment to do it. I have experience with computers so I have a good concept of this. I just want to know if my laptop is capable of running the programs I'll need for this class.

I just bought a Dell Studio XPS 1640. Here are the specs...
    Processor Type
    Intel Core 2 Duo P8400
    Processor Speed
    2.26GHz
    Memory
    4GB
    Storage Type
    HDD (Hard Disk Drive)
    Hard Drive Capacity
    500GB
    Operating System
    Windows 10
    Operating System Edition
    Professional

... I've been communicating with my instructor about the programs I'll need on this computer to complete my classwork. This is what he told me...
    "As the program moves on we will be more software-based so you will need access to several different software applications most of which are free, have a free alternative, or will be free with your student email. The couple I can think of right now that you will have to pay for is access to the Adobe software suite and game maker.