Search Unity

Anybody using Animate CC to create 2D content?

Discussion in '2D' started by hexdump, Mar 2, 2017.

1. hexdump

hexdump

Hi,

I'm a programmer making his efforts to get a bit into art. I have basic drawing and animation knoledge that think is enough to have some simple games rolling.

I have used several programs to create contect for unity like aseprite (pixel art), photoshop, spine, etc... but these last days I discovered Animate CC (aka old Flash) and it seems to be a really nice tool. The ability to animate + create vector graphics in the same program really attracts me.

The thing is, is anyone using Animate CC in his workflow? Is it easy to import assets into unity? I imagine I won't be able to import the svg animation but I think it is possible to build a sprite sheet from it and import it into unity.

Could anyone please explain a bit how you use it with Unity or on the other hand why you don't like it to be used with unity?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Mar 2, 2017
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

I've used this package at work a couple times, not for games. Seems like an alright product.
    I never liked flash much - just didn't work with my personal workflow.

I'd say - if you like the package use it and set up your own pipeline. I've used after effect for creating some simple particle effects for sprites, and also 3D renders of some simple animated shapes - as sprites, so I know software doesn't really matter as long as you can get the pipeline setup for your own purposes. As long as the software works for you, and can output to a sequence of images the sprite sheet can be created in Unity or other thru-put packer.

3. aer0ace

aer0ace