Search Unity

Any way to get custom rig INTO Daz?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by greggtwep16, Dec 8, 2013.

1. greggtwep16

greggtwep16

I am mainly a programmer and don't have that much experience with many content creation tools. I have been struggling to get purchased assets with custom rigs INTO Daz studio for the last few days and have searched for a solution but have thus far been unsuccessful. A few years back after struggling to learn blender I picked up DAZ studio (free) and some of the budget content creation tools (like the decimator, animate2, etc). For the most part I liked the aniblocks, puppateer etc for animation (animation is all I'm using daz for) I purchase the models I use but for my game I need to make a few custom animations (basketball game). With my budget I need to stick to sub $200 tools so MotionBuilder, Maya, Iclone is not an option. Neither is using the Genesis model/rig as while DAZ is free their content is above my budget (I have been able to export their stuff just fine but as I indicated can't use this for my game). However, I have been unsuccessful getting any custom rig INTO DAZ. I can import everything but the rig just fine but nothing so far has been successful with the rig (tried .DAE and .FBX).

Has anyone been able to do this successfully? (I found nothing on these forums or the DAZ forums).

I would like to exhaust all options before deciding to drop this and turning to blender for animation. If there are any other low budget (sub $200) animation tools also let me know. For the most part those seemed to be the only options and originally as a non artist/animator DAZ seemed easier to learn but it might not be usable for my usecase/budget.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  2. goat

goat