Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Any Tips on Strategy Games Development?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by MBennettDev, May 23, 2015.

1. MBennettDev

MBennettDev

Hey guys! I'm a budding game dev and I was wondering if you had any tips for creating real-time strategy games using Unity.

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Start easier :)

RTS games are pretty complex. Building side scrollers, platformers and first person shooters first will help get your feet wet before jumping into an RTS.

3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Well, since you've posted in the Game Design forum I assume you're really asking for tips on designing RTS games.

The obvious place to start is by looking at prior art, and trying to analyze what made them fun — and what makes them not fun.

Personally, I always enjoyed campaign mode, but never got into multiplayer, because for me the fun is in building up a thriving little city... and in multiplayer, I barely get started on that before the other guy swarms in with tons of primitive units and wipes me out. ;)

So you should decide who your audience is: hard-core competitive players, or more relaxed sim players? Then see how you can optimize and make it the best game possible for that audience.

There are some key decisions you'll have to make, like fixed maps vs. procedurally generated. The latter provide more fun to players who like to explore and discover. Fixed maps are demanded by the hard-core competitors, so they can spend hours analyzing the optimal sequence of actions to p0wn the other player.

I hope this gets you started... as your design evolves, present it here for feedback. And if you need help with implementation, please ask in the other forums (Scripting, Graphics, etc.).

4. MBennettDev

MBennettDev