Search Unity

Any complete beginners using Unity ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chaos, Aug 2, 2006.

1. Chaos

Chaos

I am interested in game development but have little programming experience, done some C years ago and am more interested in gfx and 3d modelling.

Is unity a good beginner platform to get started ?

I had a read of some other 3d engines but it seems you need to be a C++ pro just to get anything done.

Just wonderd if there was any complete beginners to development in Unity and how are you getting on ?

Once I brush up my moddelling skills im thinking of getting some javascript books and giving it a try.

2. Morgan

Morgan

You'll have to get back into programming, but Unity is a good way to do that. I had a lot of Lingo and ActionScript experience and not much else when I started with Unity this year, and it was fine. Unity was my first 3D game development environment (at least, that I've used seriously and productively). There was a learning curve (still is) but nowhere near as daunting as I would have thought, for the power Unity delivers. And there are lots of tutorials and documentation.

I would say it's no worse getting into Unity than getting into Flash and ActionScript the first time. From what you say, it sounds like a good choice for you--give the free trial a shot!

3. Garen

Garen

I'm in the same boat as you eccept I have never done any programming. I plan on learning though. I wanted to focus more on learning the game art aspects of games and Unity is the most versitile and ridiculously easy to use app. I had a friend who bought Torque and it just seamed way to difficult to do even the simplest things. If it wasn't for unity I would have given up on thinking that I could do this stuff.

I made this as my first project.
    http://forum.unity3d.com/viewtopic.php?t=2381

Take the plunge. You won't regret it. :D

4. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator