Search Unity

Anti-Cheat and other things i Unity Games

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mumpfi3k, Sep 6, 2018.

1. Mumpfi3k

Mumpfi3k

Hi,

first of all: Im new to Unity, im not a Game Developer, nor i have any experience with Unity. I bought 2 Years ago a Book for Unity 4 that i started, but never finished. Just after a while Unity 5 was released and People say, that some Parts of the Book for v4 is now deprecated and in special with 2018. As i read, the API in Unity seem to get deprecated with each new Version. They add new things and within a Update they are removed/changed.

I want to make a Game, competitive Shooter, at least thats my long-time Goal for the Future. Working since quite a while on a Concept. But for now, i want to get into the Stuff in the first Place. One of my concerns is the Question a lot may asked themself: Which Engine.

I occupy with Unity since a few Days and ive noticed, that it seem not possible to protect the Game from Cheaters. For a Singleplayergame its not such a big Deal when a Player spoils his Fun, but Online is a bigger Issue.

The Anti-Cheat-Toolkit seem to be entirely removeable, ive seen a Youtube Video. The .net Framework is the other thing im concerned, not just because of Unity, about the Framework itself, because a Assembly is more or less Opensource. Especially with Tools like Reflector, ILSpy etc. With DevX, seem so, that their Obfuscator cant be purchased anymore.

Client-Side checks can be patched, so using ACT seem to be useless.

Then ive seen, that there is a gerneric Aimbot/Wallhack...

Another Problem is piracy. Some of you know, that Two Hospital used Denuvo and was patched by replacing a DLL. Nice Copyprotection, seem to work only when its compiled into the Exe. Obfuscators are not a real Solution, they just make it harder. Classes, Variables etc. may be renamed, but the Code/Logic can still be seen and a experienced Programmer can read/understand the Code anyway.