Search Unity

Annoing but not critical bug

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by elettrozero, May 4, 2017.

  1. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Every time I launch the editor these lines appear in Console (only once) as errors:

    Unity extensions are not yet initialized, so we cannot say if the 'C:/Program Files/Unity/Editor/Data/UnityExtensions/Unity/Advertisements/UnityEngine.Advertisements.dll' is compatible with platform WindowsStoreApps

    Unity extensions are not yet initialized, so we cannot say if the 'C:/Program Files/Unity/Editor/Data/UnityExtensions/Unity/GUISystem/UnityEngine.UI.dll' is compatible with platform WindowsStoreApps

    [...]

    There are 702 of them so I'm only pasting a couple of them as an example.
     
    sidi_samsung likes this.
  2. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Up
     

    Attached Files:

  3. renesliver

    renesliver

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    I'm seeing this behavior as well
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,428
    elettrozero likes this.
  5. elettrozero

    elettrozero

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Posts:
    216
    Up, vote for this bug to be fixed!! ;)
     
  6. Alexees

    Alexees

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    188
    @Tautvydas-Zilys the link you posted (ok, a year old) was closed as not reproducible, but another case was opened by @Dmitriy-Yukhanov with case number 1050190. I cannot find it to check the status.
    I really don't know why there's hidden bug reports anyway. From what I know, they would be the only possibility to know in which version the bug was fixed, or if it was fixed even, am I right?
    Could you give me a quick info about the bugs status, please?
     
  7. delphinius81

    delphinius81

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    Encountered this bug myself as well. Doesn't block me, but it's annoying to open a project to 100s of errors. :)
     
  8. unity_VAfwBEs32IOz_w

    unity_VAfwBEs32IOz_w

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Same there, just upgrade to 2018 and can't get a single project work. There is few error, one of them is this one. Other is at compilation time (for an HoloLens), where VS can't find Unity Player 'cause the build did not include it and several other dependency at build-time (because... ??? No logic at all), and so utterly failed to run.
     
  9. kwcae

    kwcae

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Posts:
    34
    @unity_VAfwBEs32IOz_w Have you had any luck? We're just getting into HoloLens as our site and would love to know if there's a workaround before we hit the same snag.
     
  10. ph2k

    ph2k

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Still getting this error when opening 100s of them. its mostly just annoying. Also annoying the issue was closed?
     
  11. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,428
    It was closed because we couldn't reproduce it anymore. If you can, please report another bug with a repro project included so we could fix it once and for all.
     
  12. coder89

    coder89

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    I got the exact same problem after upgrading my project from 2018.1.9 to 2018.2.13 just now. Repros 100% on every project reopening. During auto-upgrade I got a warning about missing metadata and I suspect this could be an issue. Also project.dependencies file used to be empty and now it contains list of dependencies (interestingly all of those dependencies are causing those startup errors).

    Anyhow, I solved that by removing "Library" folder and reopening the project. Now Unity does not complain anymore.
     
  13. nonemec

    nonemec

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem working on a project with the HoloLens.
    The problem does indeed temporarily disappear when deleting the Library folder. However, that is only because the Build Settings are lost. As soon as I switch the Platform back to Universal Windows Platform in Build Settings, save project, close Unity Editor and reopen the project, the annoying error messages reappear. Maybe that helps in reproducing? Let me know if you need more info.
     
  14. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,428
    That doesn't really help, unfortunately. We need a project that reproduces this.
     
  15. remiC3D

    remiC3D

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Posts:
    18
    Hello, I'm currently having this issue on Unity 2018.2.10f1, on Universal Windows Platform. Do you still need a project that reproduces it?
     
  16. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,428
    Yes! Please submit a bug report with it attached.