Search Unity

Anisotropic shader makes no sense -- How does it work?

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by Goatogrammetry, Feb 8, 2020.

1. Goatogrammetry

Goatogrammetry

Ok so here's what I've found by experiment:

The anisotropic shader makes the highlight stretch to a line. The line's orientation on the model is determined by the orientation of the uv island. Negative aniso values make a vertical line as seen by the uv map, and positive values make a horizontal line. The further you move from 0 the crisper the line effect gets. Ok great.

Now, I'm an artist. I dont code game engines. So I'd like to know what the guys that do code engines were expecting artists to do with this shader. I've been working on a horse model, and horses really benefit from aniso effects. However, there's no way to unwrap uv islands for a horse that will make the aniso's uv based shine work while still making it work with a texture. The problem is seams, and the fact that by definition you wont have the same uv island orientation at seams.

So they introduce the 'tangent map'. I assumed I could use it to adjust the angle implied by the UV map, allowing me to flow the aniso effect along the fur's path. I was guessing it was 0-360 remapped to 0-255 and while it would be a pain, I figured I could make it work. No, thats not what it is. The map is an actual vector4 with a hint-bubble stating "BC7/BC5/DXT5(nm)". Seriously, what the flying F* am I supposed to make of this? DXT5 seems to be a compression standard, but the internet contains no data, nor does Unity's documentation.

So, not one to be stopped by bad documentation, I wrote a shader and sent in a blank texture, but I used UV2 and mapped UV2 on the mesh to be a side-projection. In theory that might kinda work and there'd be no seams. No, it isn't using UV2. Since anisotropy is so 'uv based' one would think you could pick a 2nd uv set to base it on but they didn't seem to consider that.