Search Unity

AnimatorStateInfo.normalizedTime

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by rex_francorum, Apr 21, 2020.

1. rex_francorum

rex_francorum

Hi, I'm a beginning C#/Unity student and I'm attempting an assignment for my class. For the assignment we have to Destroy an object once the animation for it has ended. The teacher has provided the code and his solution is as follows:

Code (CSharp):
    1.  // destroy the game object if the explosion has finished its animation
    2.         if (anim.GetCurrentAnimatorStateInfo(0).normalizedTime >= 0.5)
    3.         {
    4.             Destroy(gameObject);
    5.         }
    I don't know where the 0.5 comes from (the animation has 9 frames) and the documentation for the GetCurrentAnimatorStateInfo method and normalizedTime property are hard for me to parse. Could some explain the layerIndex parameter to me in GetCurrentAnimatorStateInfo and/or how normalizedTime works. As far as I can tell, the 0.5 for normalizedTime would be that it looped 0 times and is 50% of the way through the animation loop. Is that correct? Any help much appreciated.

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/AnimatorStateInfo-normalizedTime.html
    https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Animator.GetCurrentAnimatorStateInfo.html

2. Baste

Baste

Yup, the normalized time is between 0 and 1, where 0 is the start of the animation and 1 is the end. That's what "normalized" means, for time, vectors, whatever.

But, yeah, wow the docs for normalizedTime looks like it was written by a drunk monkey. @jo-unity, it should probably get an entry in the mysterious docs backlog!

GetCurrentAnimatorStateInfo is pretty well-documented, though the example uses the deprecated OnGUI to show some info.

EWimsett likes this.
  3. Deleted User

Deleted User

Hi :)
    Same here ;) I guess we are in the same class xD

I still have problems grasping the 0.5 parameter.