Search Unity

Question Animator Track : Keep animation looping when paused

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by VincentPaquin, Feb 10, 2022.

1. VincentPaquin

VincentPaquin

Hello!
    We are currently working on a dialog system which would use Timeline as the main tool for placing cameras, characters, and pre-visualisation.

The idea is that a track will pause the timeline, (or set the speed to 0, in order to "keep updating" the timeline), allowing the player interaction to happen.
    However, we would like certain animations to keep going ; Idle, for example, should continue playing.

It is extremely similar to the Creative scripting for timeline blog post, which does the following :

However, the timeline pauses only when there is no clip in the AnimatorTrack. If it does, the character freezes in place like so :

I am still a beginner on scripting for Timeline and Playables.

I feel like
    The ideal solution would be a way to get the AnimationClip to keep going, ignoring the pause. This would make use of AnimatorTrack's complex programming which handles scene offsets, default human poses, blending from AnimatorController to AnimatorTrack, etc...

The sensical solution for me seems to be a custom track, but so far, I can't seem to understand how I am meant to play an animation clip, despite using Unity's Timeline Playable Wizard.

The not-as-good solution could also be to have a monobehaviour on the character that can recieve animationClips and does the overriding itself ; making it dependant on gameTime instead of the director's time.

Last edited: Feb 10, 2022
  2. VincentPaquin

VincentPaquin

I have tried accessing the playable at runtime, manually setting the time of all the playables except "Timeline" to Time.time during LateUpdate.

In order to be still evaluated, the PlayableDirector is paused by using
    Code (CSharp):
    1. playableDirector.playableGraph.GetRootPlayable(0).SetSpeed(0);
    According to the playableGraph, the time is correctly set