Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Animator: Retarget (change source/target state of) transitions

Discussion in 'Animation' started by plmx, Mar 27, 2017.

  1. plmx

    plmx

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Posts:
    299
    Is there some way in the Animator window to change the source or target (state) of a transition (thereby keeping all its other settings)? Thanks!
     
    d2clon likes this.
  2. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    539
    It's not in the Editor right now; this is one of those things where we know how to do a quick hack, but we haven't taken the time to implement it correctly.

    You can use the script I've attached, it adds a right click menu to your inspector, and lets you copy paste transition values.
    upload_2017-3-27_14-5-59.png

    Note: this won't work for transitions from a StateMachine, or Entry transitions. It should not be too hard to fix it, it's just that they don't share all the same members.

    Also, this needs to be in a folder named Editor in your project
     

    Attached Files:

  3. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    539
    I was testing it a bit, and the script won't work well for multiple transitions; it will always take the first one.
    I'll leave it here for now, until I find something better
     
    TrickyHandz and plmx like this.
  4. plmx

    plmx

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Posts:
    299
    @DavidGeoffroy cool, thanks for your answer & script, very helpful!
     
  5. kkaehler

    kkaehler

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Is this in the editor by now? Just asking, it's been 4 years since the question came up here...
     
  6. jimfhurley

    jimfhurley

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Yes! Right click where he says to above (it looks like new state -> new state 0) and the option will appear without the supplied script.
     
    kkaehler likes this.
  7. kkaehler

    kkaehler

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Great, thanks :)
     
unityunity