Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Animator not playing animations

Discussion in 'Animation' started by spitre, Feb 15, 2018.

1. spitre

spitre

I'm new to unity trying to set up a simple UI that makes a wolf 3D character sit. I set up a two state animator controller which transitions from the idle animation to the sitting animation when a bool goes from false to true. Then I attached the animator and a script to a game object. I put a button in a canvas somewhere else in the project and set the on click behavior to run a function in the script that changes the bool from false to true. I know the bool is being changed because I set up print statements to tell me what its state is and when I run the game the first animation plays but the character does not transition into the sit animation. My code is
    public void animationfunction()
    {
    anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
    if (anim.GetBool("SitBool") == false)
    {
    Debug.Log("false");
    anim.SetBool("SitBool", true);
    }
    else
    {
    Debug.Log("true");
    anim.SetBool("SitBool", false);
    }
    }
    Can anyone help with this?

2. StickyHoneybuns

StickyHoneybuns

You do not need to use debug.log with animation transitions. You can simply open up the animator of the object while the game is running and view the bool values being cycled in the parameters tab. You can also view the state in which your animation is in. I recommend looking at that to determine where your animation is hanging up.