Search Unity

Animator Entry

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Bresan, Mar 14, 2015.

1. Bresan

Bresan

Hello!

I am a complete beginner with Unity, so I'm trying to follow the Survival Shooter tutorial to get familiar with how it works. I have finished and copied everything they did in the first 2 parts of the tutorial, up until the point when moving and the animations should be working. However, my animations don't seem to work properly. It always seems to be playing the "Idle" animation.

The only difference I can notice between my project and their example one is that in the "Animator" window is that there's a box called "Entry", which they don't have in the example. This Entry-box is pointing with some sort of line towards the "Idle" animation. Is this somehow causing my problem? Can the Entry-box be removed?

roshanjafri31_unity likes this.
  2. Jaimi

Jaimi

The entry box can't be removed, and it's not the cause of the problems. The entry box is showing that your idle animation is the default state.

The problem is somewhere else. Most likely your new animations are not being triggered.

damobe likes this.
  3. amandaterasu

amandaterasu

I have a similar issue, possibly the same. I've checked and double checked that my code is the same as listed in the tutorial, and demonstrated in the video. The problem is that at the moment animations are not being interrupted to switch to a new animation. For example, when I test the game, it immediately enters the Idle Animation, as per its association with the Entry box. However, if I start moving, the idle animation will not interrupt, it will continue playing as my player glides along the floor. Once the idle animation is finished, it will switch to the movement animation. However, if I stop moving, it will play to the end of the movement animation, and if I remain still, start the idle animation again.

How do I tell the system to interrupt these animations?

Edited to add: