Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Animator: Animation plays once then stops (but shows it looping in Animator view)

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Aggressor, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Aggressor

    Aggressor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    I have looked through the Unity videos and documentation but I'm not clear on what I seem to be doing wrong.

    In the video they have a model who has the animation "idle". If they just leave him alone and start the game, the idle loops for them.

    For me, I have walk set as default. However in my case, it plays it only once, then it stops. It keeps showing the blue line indicating its playing through the Walk state still, but its not animating my character.

    If you know why my animation plays only once and how I can get it to loop (without having to script it) that would be appreciated!
     
  2. CaoMengde777

    CaoMengde777

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    813
    in the animation's import settings you checkbox "loop time" and "loop pose"

    you select mesh animation is attached to and press the animations tab, select an animation and option is there....

    ...or i guess just select animation and checkbox the 2 ... my animations are attached to meshes, not sure how it is otherwise...

    you select them in the assets window.. project folder viewer.. whatever thats called lol
     
    darkdoom973 likes this.
  3. Beowulf Dragonheart

    Beowulf Dragonheart

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem, I tried checking "loop time" and "loop pose", but it doesnt solve my problem. Can somebody please help me with this?
     
  4. darkdoom973

    darkdoom973

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2020
    Posts:
    13




    Thanx, this helped me
     
  5. cristiancruz89434

    cristiancruz89434

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    On the actual Animator component, there's a culling Mode that determines how it animates everything connected to it, change this from "cull update transforms" to "always animate", fixed my issue
     
unityunity