Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Animator and Script Rotation

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by MathewHI, Jun 4, 2021.

1. MathewHI

MathewHI

The Animator blocks any rotations I try to add in a script. How can I have both?

2. Johan_Liebert123

Johan_Liebert123

Well giving more info would be a good start, post your script, seeing what you already have would be great!

3. Ian_1337

Ian_1337

Hi, Don't know if this helps as an example, I'm fairly new to Unity.

I used a Unity "Standard asset" character controller free from the asset store, an animator and Cinemachine for different camera states. I started with the blank FPS character, but it comes with a 3rd person one setup as an example (similar to this);

upload_2021-6-4_11-43-23.png

I downloaded a Ninja character from Mixamo to play around with (ch24_nonPBR) and it has an animator;

upload_2021-6-4_11-44-56.png

I then made a Ninja controller which has states;
    upload_2021-6-4_11-47-38.png

Then I have Cameras > Animator (with a different animator)

upload_2021-6-4_11-49-55.png

This allows me to have animations running according to the input of the character.. but also the camera state is seperate (so if you want to rotate the camera around the player you can do that, for instance under my 'WalkCamera' settings I could change the camera to like rotate around him).

Hope it helps

Attached Files:

Johan_Liebert123 likes this.
  4. Ian_1337

Ian_1337

Further to this (if it helps) in case I didn't make it clear, the animator for the camera states is not the ninja animator, the way it works is like this;
    upload_2021-6-4_12-1-41.png
    if my character walks it's on walk camera (it tells the ninja animator it's moving so it animates)
    if my character crouches or sneaks it's on crouch camera (it tells the ninja animator to crouch or sneak forwards)