Search Unity

Animations with the Animator not working

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Xialya, Oct 9, 2015.

1. Xialya

Xialya

Hello,

I'm new to Unity, and running into an issue. I was already following a couple of tutorials, but looks like there's an issue i cannot fix after hours spent on it:

My character (an animated rat purchased on the Asset Store) has an animator controller with the different animations that are set properly with transitions and parameters. But in-game, the animations don't run. As you can see on the provided screenshot, the animations run in the Animator, but not in-game. I tried to switch between different default animations, parameters, and variables. None of the animations are working in-game.

However, when I put, say the Rat_Walk animation, as an Animation Clip on the Player, the animation plays in-game. But that's not what I need.

I later found out there's no Motion (on the right), and I cannot set it to any of the Rat animations. I can set it to any other animation though. Even the Take 001 animation that came with the rat, which is grouping all 5 rat animations. If I set this one, then it works, but playing the Take 001 clip, not the individual ones. Still not what is wanted here.

So, would this issue be related to the animations themselves? How to fix it?

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Based on the images this rat is going to be player controlled?
    If that is so - look into the animation part of the learn section. Your doing some of the steps, but not all of them. The answers you seek are there.
    And unless you are preforming advanced animation techniques - you don't want to have an animator and an animation component on the rat. You will want to remove one or the other.

3. Xialya

Xialya

Yes, the rat is player controlled.
    I was following a tutorial again, but to no avail.
    It is working on other models though.
    What seems to be missing to work, is the clip in the Motion field.

4. solkar

solkar