Search Unity

Animation state best practices

Discussion in 'Animation' started by JosephSelahJr, Jun 16, 2021.

1. JosephSelahJr

JosephSelahJr

I'm new to Unity and game development as a whole. Doing a tutorial to get exposure to Unity and I noticed that there is a lot of animation state logic being mixed in with character logic. That just feels like a ticking time bomb. Eventually something will be changed in the animation and that'll break game logic and it'll be a royal headache to track down.

I'm thinking right now of using a separate state machine for the character and have that state machine drive the animation logic.

2. Kybernetik

Kybernetik

That's just one of the many problems with Mecanim. It sounds like you'd be interested in Animancer (link in my signature) which lets you avoid Animator Controllers and control everything directly in scripts. It comes with a state machine system, but it's entirely separate from the animation system so you can just as easily use your own state machine that works however you like it.

But if you don't want to use Animancer, I do recommend using a script based state machine to control the animations. You still have to deal with most of those problems and waste time maintaining the interdependencies between the code and Animator Controller, but it does at least streamline things a bit. That's what I did back before I made Animancer.

PutridEx likes this.
  3. JosephSelahJr

JosephSelahJr

I'll check that out. I'm not planning anything big. But was planning on doing a tiny project with a buddy just for fun. He doesn't code, but he's a good artist. Does Animancer still give him free reign on the art side? I want him able to do what he can with art, I just don't want him able to destroy game state.

I will say, point 4 is one that's been bothering me. Unity seems to encourage magic strings, which gives you 0 confidence at runtime.

And 5 is clearly the point I'm bringing up.

4. Kybernetik

Kybernetik

5. JosephSelahJr