Search Unity

Question Animation Rigging: IK Target doesn't stay still, affected by motion of model

Discussion in 'Animation Rigging' started by dgoyette, Jul 6, 2020.

1. dgoyette

dgoyette

I'm just getting started with Animation Rigging, and I figure there's a bunch I don't know. But I'm just trying to set up a simple two-bone IK for the arm, and running into unexpected behavior. I would have thought the hand would stay wherever I put it. Instead, it bounces up and down along with the rest of the model.

Here you can see the IK I've set up for the left hand. Without this IK, the hand would normally just be swinging back and forth, like the left hand. But I was expecting the

IK.gif

I don't have the IK target as a child of the model, and the "Target" stays in one place the whole time. So, the Target isn't moving. It's just that the model isn't fully honoring the position imposed by the IK constraint.

upload_2020-7-6_16-24-19.png

Am I wrong in assuming that the hand should stay exactly on one spot, rather than move like this? Both the Rig and the Constraint have their weight set to 1, and there are no other rigs of constraints being used.

2. dgoyette

dgoyette

I seem to have found a way around the problem, though I'm not sure it's quite correct, since it's not the way I've seen any of the examples set up.

The approach was to place the Rig Builder on the same object that contains the model's Animator, and to make the Rigs children of the model. You can see my original setup in my first post, which didn't work. The following setup seems to work as expected:

upload_2020-7-6_21-19-27.png

Using this approach, the hand stays perfectly still. I'm not sure if someone else can confirm whether this is a reasonable/correct approach, and why it makes a difference.

3. dgoyette

dgoyette