Search Unity

Animation problem unity - Simple fix

Discussion in 'Animation' started by reviveearly, Apr 29, 2021.

1. reviveearly

reviveearly

Hey forum, I posted here yesterday but my thread seems to have disappeared into thin air. My issue is with my animation if anybody could kindly help :)

Code (csharp):
    2. if ((Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Q)))
    3.             {
    4.                 bool fire = Input.GetButtonDown("Q");
    5.                 animator.SetTrigger("walking");
    6.                 animator.SetFloat("walk", 5);
    7.             }
    Currently nothing plays when Q is pressed.

My animator -

https://rapidshare.io/Ttw/Capture.PNG

if walk is more than 0, then play animation. If walk is less than 0 then idle. My jump works with a grounded variable, if grounded is false jump, if grounded then don't jump.

I have no idea what I've done wrong as I'm new to unity and following tutorials online. Thanks for any help!

2. Yandalf

Yandalf

Not 100% sure if this will fix it, but first of all clean up your animator. You do not need that walk 0 bool and walking trigger, and they might mess up some logic (can't tell without a full overview of the animator and where everything exactly gets used).
    Also keep in mind that Input.GetKeyDown only returns true on the frame where you begin pressing down a button, and not on all the next frames if you keep holding the button down. If you want to be able to register keyholds, you need to use Input.GetKey, Input.GetAxis, or Input.GetButton. (GetAxis is the recommended option since then you're not hard-coding the exact button press, but instead use the Input axis which are configurable in user options and such).

3. reviveearly

reviveearly

Hello, thanks for the advice. I re-done it and cleaned it up a bit, but still nothing.

Full code:
    Code (csharp):
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using System.Collections.Generic;
    4. using UnityEngine;
    5. using PresentationCore.dll;