Search Unity

Animation, not Mecanim?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by jaybennett, Dec 7, 2016.

1. jaybennett

jaybennett

I have the following requirements for my animation system:

- Can stand in an arbitrary set of weapons/items held by the character (unarmed, rifle, sword, saw, pickaxe, etc)
    - Each stance has an arbitrary set of possible abilities with idle, moving and death being common to all. for example the pickaxe would have a "mining" action and a "basic attack" action
    - weapons are generated programmatically, i.e. any in-game weapon has around 4 of the possible 30 abilities for that weapon type attached to it

I am a programmer and find that dealing with the Mecanim editor is really cumbersome and I would rather map my data directly to the animations to play, in code.

Is there a best practice around doing this, in 2016? I know the legacy system of playing clips was deprecated ages ago.

2. Fabian-Haquin

Fabian-Haquin

That's exactly why mecanism is there for.

You will have to make a complete setup with Avatar masks and blend trees.

Mecanism editor may be simplier than you think, maybe you don't use it correctly?

3. jaybennett

jaybennett

i still have to manually create the state machine through the UI and map the transitions to parameters manually.

since i have a state machine in my controller and the action / animation to play in my code for each weapon, i don't want to have to do this manual step.

is there no animation API that lets me play animations by clip name directly?

4. Fabian-Haquin

Fabian-Haquin

Well, as a developer I understand your frustration.

To my knowledge the Animation class is not deprecated but I may be wrong.

To me, Animation System and Mecanism are two different tools for different usages.

Animation is very easy to setup for an object that have one animation, Mecanism is not.
    Mecanism is very more useful for complexe character animations setup.