Search Unity

animation and memory

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by PancakeCircus, Nov 13, 2009.

1. PancakeCircus

PancakeCircus

i'm trying to get a feel for how much animation i can include in a character and how it effects memory and performance. For instance if i have a simple run cycle that is 16 frames verses a more complex loop that is 3 times the length, or 48 frames.

Also i noticed that if i export a maya scene at 24fps or 30fps that the animation clip in unity will show that value, does unity then play it back at that rate or at least attempt to? if so then my guess would be animating at 24fps would save 20% of the keyframe information. is this correct?

thanks.. my background is in film/broadcast where it is not an issue.

2. Rekkair

Rekkair

Our company had the same issue, where our animations were exported at 20 frames per second, but Unity would always import it at 30 fps regardless, so our keyframes were always off. After some research on the forums, someone from Unity, maybe the CTO, stated that it always imports at 30 fps. If you go into the animation that was imported, I always noticed that the sample rate was always 30 though, regardless of the fps when importing. Our solution was just to make everything into 30 fps to expedite the process, especially since there weren't many other options available to explore due to our time constraints. As for memory limitation and whatnot, I'll be finding that out soon enough.

3. jtbentley

jtbentley

I thought it defaulted to 60fps..?

4. PancakeCircus

PancakeCircus

Strange. My animation clips show a sample rate of 30 when i export at 30fps and 24 at 24fps. Maybe it has to do with Maya when it exports? since mayas frame rate is tied to the the time line and will scale keys if you change the frame rate. either way it looks like it plays at the correct speed.

Any idea how much longer animation clips affect the performance?

5. HanulTech

HanulTech