Search Unity

Question Animating the player ship in a vertical scrolling shooter

Discussion in '2D' started by AnjAvraam, May 10, 2020.

1. AnjAvraam

AnjAvraam

I'm new to Unity and thought it might be a good idea to start a simple project so I can learn my way around the editor and get started on some basic C# scripting skills. So I decided to make a vertical scrolling shootemup.

Rather frustratingly. sorting out the player ship's animations has me stumped. And this is after a week of scouring the internet and Unity forums for clues. I can only find instructions for platform games which don't apply to this and one forum thread that refers to buying a third party plugin to do it - surely that's excessive, and this is actually something that can be done in Unity or with C#, right?

The goal is relatively modest:

What I'm trying to do is animate a 2D spaceship, so when you pull to the side it appears to tilt (like a flying object not like a mouse pointer that always stays the same).

I've already drawn the graphics (7 states of tilt including a default non-tilted state - that's 3 frames per side) but no method of animation I've come across allows for this simple sprite-swapping (that I imagine) to occur when the directions are input.

The desired effect:
    • When the x axis is engaged (i.e. the player is holding the left or right arrow key) the 3-frame animation for tilting the ship to that side occurs, and it holds the last frame until the player lets go of that direction input - this will create the illusion that the ship is banking to that side.
    • The animation needs to pingpong back to the default position once the player stops pulling left or right (the ship levels out again when not being steered left or right - it doesn't just jolt right back to default as that would look weird).

Un-desired effects: