Search Unity

Animating Lighting or Material Properties in Timeline

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by frogwise, Dec 3, 2017.

  1. frogwise

    frogwise

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Posts:
    78
    Hey I'm trying to use Timeline to animate a sunrise, and I would like to

    A) animate the Fog properties under Lighting
    B) Animate the Sky Tint property under the Procedural Skybox material I'm using.

    Is this possible? I cannot seem to add an objects porperty to the timeline unless it exists on a gameobject. Both Lighting Properties and Materials do not live on gameobjects.

    Thanks guys!

    upload_2017-12-3_13-45-44.png
    upload_2017-12-3_13-46-3.png
     
  2. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    416
    DChap likes this.
  3. frogwise

    frogwise

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Posts:
    78
  4. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    416
     
  5. DChap

    DChap

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for linking the video, lot of good info in there.

    After watching it though, I'm still not sure I'm entirely sure how to go about editing a material's value (color, etc). The Timeline Playable Wizard still seems like it is set up to edit objects in the scene, but I don't see an option for Material anywhere in there. How can I set up a custom track to control a material value?
     
  6. coggycog

    coggycog

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    DChap,

    Here's the skinny:

    Add an animation track
    Drag your object with the material into the track
    Set your timeline to 0
    Hit the record button
    Change your material along the timeline where you see fit

    VIOLA!

    GLHF
    Cog
     
    DChap_Salty likes this.
  7. Diesign

    Diesign

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    @coggycog Is it possible to throw the Window>Rendering>Lighting Settings onto an object?
     
  8. metroidsnes

    metroidsnes

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    63
    I'm not sure about that but you could create a Playable that modifies settings on a GO with your custom script attached that in turn modifies the RenderSettings.
     
  9. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    293
    THANK YOU!!!!